New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
A E van Vogt's picture

A E van Vogt

(Alfred Elton van Vogt)
Canada (1912 - 2000)
Husband of E Mayne Hull

Alfred Elton van Vogt was a Canadian-born science fiction author who was one of the most prolific, yet complex, writers of the mid-twentieth century "Golden Age" of the genre. Many fans of that era would have named van Vogt, Robert Heinlein, and Isaac Asimov as the three greatest science fiction writers.
The Weapon Makers (1946)
     aka One Against Eternity
The Weapon Shops of Isher (1951)
The Empire of Isher (omnibus) (2000)
The Weapon MakersThe Weapon Shops of IsherThe Empire of Isher
1. The World of Null-A (1948)
2. The Pawns of Null-A (1956)
     aka The Players of Null-A
3. Null-A 3 (1985)
The World of Null-AThe Pawns of Null-ANull-A 3
Empire of the AtomThe Wizard of Linn
SlanThe Book of PtathThe House That Stood StillMasters of Time
The Voyage of the Space BeagleMission to the StarsThe Universe MakerPlanets for Sale
The Mind CageSiege of the UnseenThe War against the RullThe Violent Man
The BeastThe Twisted MenRogue ShipThe Winged Man
The ChangelingThe SilkieChildren of TomorrowQuest for the Future
More Than SuperhumanThe Battle of ForeverFuture GlitterThe Darkness on Diamondia
The Man with a Thousand NamesThe Secret GalacticsThe GrybSupermind
The Anarchistic ColossusPendulumThe Enchanted VillageRenaissance
Cosmic EncounterComputerworldSlan Hunter
A Van Vogt OmnibusVan Vogt Omnibus 2TransgalacticSlan / Slan Hunter
M33 in AndromedaOut of the UnknownAway and BeyondDestination: Universe!
The Far-Out Worlds of A E van VogtMonstersThe Sea Thing: And Other StoriesThe Proxy Intelligence: And Other Mind Benders
The Book of Van Vogt: Fifty SunsThe Three Eyes of Evil: Including Earth's Last FortressThe Best of A E van VogtThe Best of A E van Vogt 1949 - 1968
Futures Past: The Best Short Fiction of A.E. Van VogtEssential A E Van VogtThe Earth Killers:  and Other Stories
Vault of the BeastThe Storm
Non fiction
The Hypnotism HandbookThe Money PersonalityReflections of A. E. Van Vogt: The Autobiography of a Science Fiction Giant : With a Complete BibliographyA Report on the Violent Male
Anthologies containing stories by A E van Vogt
The Other Side of the MoonBeyond Time and SpaceMen against the StarsFar Boundaries
The Outer ReachesBest SFOut of This World 10A Treasury of Great Science Fiction, Volume 1
Zacherley's Midnight SnacksSpectrum 2Fifty Short Science Fiction TalesThe Witchcraft Reader
Science Fiction Hall of Fame Volume 1Partners in WonderThe Penguin Science Fiction OmnibusSpace Opera
Modern Science FictionThe Best Science Fiction StoriesTrips in Time: Nine Stories of Science FictionThe Great SF Stories One: 1939
The Great SF Stories Two: 1940Classic Science FictionThe Great SF Stories 3: 1941The Great SF Stories 4: 1942
The Great SF Stories 5: 1943The Great SF Stories 6: 1944Three in SpaceThe Great SF Stories 10: 1948
Mercenaries of TomorrowGhor, Kin-Slayer: The Saga of Genseric's Fifth-Born SonGreat Science Fiction of the 20th CenturyThe Mammoth Book of Golden Age Science Fiction: Short Novels of the 1940s
The Oxford Book of Science Fiction StoriesThe Good Old StuffThe Science Fiction CenturyAckermanthology
Nebula Awards 31The Young Oxford Book of Aliens
Short stories
A Can of Paint
The Great Engine
The Harmonizer
Heir Unapparent
The Rulers
The Search
The Second Solution
Secret Unattainable
The Sound
Black Destroyer (1939)
The First Martian (1939)
The Sea Thing [short story] (1939)
Vault of the Beast (1940)
The Seesaw (1941)
Asylum (1942)
Cooperate - Or Else! (1942)
Not Only Dead Men (1942)
Recruiting Station (1942)
The Weapons Shop (1942)
The Witch (1942)
Concealment (1943)
The Storm (1943)
Far Centaurus (1944)
Juggernaut (1944)
Film Library (1946)
Hand of the Gods (1946)
The Cataaaaa (1947)
Dormant (1948)
The Great Judge (1948)
The Monster (1948)
Resurrection (1948)
The Rull (1948)
Dear Pen Pal (1949)
Final Command (1949)
The Green Forest (1949)
Enchanted Village (1950)
War of Nerves (1950)
The Weapon Shops of Isher [short story] (1951)
Fulfilment (1952)
The Expendables (1963)
Itself! (1963)
Research Alpha (1965) (with James Schmitz)Nebula (nominee)
Silkies in Space (1966)
The Proxy Intelligence [short story] (1968)
The Human Operators (1970) (with Harlan Ellison)
Process (1973)

Nebula nominee (1966) : Research Alpha

Books about A E van Vogt
Science Fiction Voices, No 2: Interviews with Ray Bradbury, A.E. Van Vogt, Robert Silverberg and OthersThe Null-A Worlds of A.E. van VogtA. E. van Vogt: Science Fantasy's Icon
A E van Vogt recommends
The Year of the Quiet Sun
The Year of the Quiet Sun (1970)
Wilson Tucker
"An H G Wells-type time machine takes this chilling story's anti-hero into a nightmare only-a-few-years-from-now future, which many people will feel we have earned by our treatment of minorities. "
Gods in a Vortex
Gods in a Vortex (1979)
(Gods in a Vortex, book 1)
David Houston
"Masterfully written! A work of beauty, power and depth!"
Timediver's Dawn
Timediver's Dawn (1992)
(Timegods' World, book 2)
L E Modesitt, Jr
"Exceptionally brilliant."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Jack Vance
Roger Zelazny
Joan D Vinge
Poul Anderson
Vernor Vinge
John Varley
Clifford D Simak
Keith Laumer
Ben Bova
Frank Herbert
Ursula K Le Guin
Fritz Leiber
Harry Harrison
Robert Silverberg
Frederik Pohl

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email