New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Jack Vance's picture

Jack Vance

(John Holbrook Vance)
USA (1916 - 2013)

Jack Vance was born in 1916 and educated at the University of California, first as a mining engineer, then majoring in physics and finally in journalism. During the 1940s and 1950s, he contributed widely to sf and fantasy magazines. His first novel, 'The Dying Earth', was published in 1950 to great acclaim. Since then he won both of sf's most coveted trophies, the Hugo and Nebula awards; he also won an Edgar Award for his mystery novel 'The Man in the Cage'.
Dying Earth
1. The Dying Earth (1950)
     aka Mazirian the Magician
2. The Eyes of the Overworld (1966)
     aka Cugel the Clever
3. Cugel's Saga (1966)
     aka Cugel: The Skybreak Spatterlight
4. Rhialto the Marvellous (1984)
Morreion (1968)
The Seventeen Virgins (1974)
The Bagful of Dreams (1979)
The Laughing Magician (1997)
The Tales of the Dying Earth (omnibus) (2000)
The Dying EarthThe Eyes of the OverworldCugel's SagaRhialto the Marvellous
MorreionThe Seventeen VirginsThe Bagful of DreamsThe Laughing Magician
The Tales of the Dying Earth
Big Planet
1. Big Planet (1952)
2. Showboat World (1975)
Big PlanetShowboat World
The Star KingThe Killing MachineThe Palace of LoveThe Face
The Book of DreamsThe Demon Princes : Volume 1The Demon Princes: Volume 2The Demon Princes
Son of the TreeThe Houses of IszmThe Brains of Earth
The Many Worlds of Magnus RidolphThe Complete Magnus RidolphMagnus Ridolph
City of the ChaschServants of the WankhThe DirdirThe Pnume
Planet of AdventureThe ChaschTschai
1. The Anome (1973)
     aka The Faceless Man
2. The Brave Free Men (1973)
3. The Asutra (1974)
Durdane (omnibus) (1989)
The AnomeThe Brave Free MenThe AsutraDurdane
Trullion: Alastor 2262Marune: Alastor 993Wyst: Alastor 1716Alastor
The Gray PrinceMaske: Thaery
Suldrun's GardenThe Green PearlMadoucLyonesse II: The Green Pearl and Madouc
The Complete Lyonesse
Araminta StationEcce and Old EarthThroyThe Cadwal Chronicles
Ports of Call
1. Ports of Call (1998)
2. Lurulu (2004)
Ports of CallLurulu
Hard Luck DiggingsDream CastlesMagic HighwaysMinding the Stars: The Early Jack Vance Volume 4
The Dogtown Tourist AgencyFreitzke's TurnMiro Hetzel
The Five Gold BandsVandals of the VoidTo Live ForeverThe Languages of Pao
Slaves of the KlauThe Man in the CageThe Dragon MastersMonsters in Orbit
Space OperaThe Blue WorldThe Last CastleEmphyrio
Bad RonaldGalactic EffectuatorNight LampThe Deadly Isles
Bird IsleThe Dark OceanThe Flesh MaskThe Fox Valley Murders
The House on Lily StreetThe Pleasant Grove MurdersStrange People, Queer NotionsThe View from Chickweed's Window
The WannekThe Magnificent ShowboatsThe Domains of KoryphonClarges
The Dragon Masters / The 5 Gold BandsSon of the Tree / Houses of IszmThree Trips in Time and SpaceThe Last Castle / Nightwings
A Short, Sharp Shock  / The Dragon MastersDangerous WaysJack Vance SF Gateway Omnibus
Future TenseEight Fantasms and Magics: A Science Fiction AdventureThe Worlds of Jack VanceThe Moon Moth: And Other Stories
The Best of Jack VanceFantasms and MagicsGreen MagicNopalgarth
Lost MoonsThe Narrow LandLight from a Lone StarThe Augmented Agent: And Other Stories
The Dark Side of the Moon: Stories of the FutureChateau D'If: And Other StoriesWhen the Five Moons RiseThe Jack Vance Treasury
The Jack Vance ReaderThe Men ReturnWild Thyme, Green MagicThe Dragon Masters and Other Stories
The Houses of Iszm and Other StoriesSon of the Tree and Other StoriesThe Potter of Firsk and Other StoriesThe World-Thinker and Other Stories
Golden Girl and Other StoriesSail 25 and Other StoriesWild Thyme and Violets: And Other Unpublished WorksDesperate Days
Big Planet / The Blue World / The Dragon Masters and Other Stories
The KragenSjambakThe RappareeThe Miracle Workers
Dodkin's Job
Non fiction
The Jack Vance LexiconThis is Me, Jack Vance!This Is Me, Jack Vance! Or More Properly, This Is I
Anthologies containing stories by Jack Vance
The Best from Fantasy and Science Fiction 13th SeriesThe Spell of SevenNebula Award Stories 2Robert Silverberg's Worlds of Wonder: Exploring the Craft of Science Fiction
The Hugo Winners 1963-1967Science Fiction Hall of Fame Volume Two BUniverse 4The Best Science Fiction of the Year 3
Space OperaThe Year's Best Fantasy StoriesRealms of WizardryThe Year's Finest Fantasy
The Year's Best Horror Stories VIIScience Fiction of the FiftiesA Century of Science Fiction 1950-1959The Science Fiction Hall of Fame Volume Four
A Treasury of Modern FantasyThe Road to Science Fiction 4: From Here to ForeverThe Science Fiction Weight-Loss BookGreat Science Fiction of the 20th Century
Horror Story Volume 3Masterpieces of Terror and the UnknownStrange DreamsModern Classic Short Novels of Science Fiction
The Good Old StuffModern Classics of FantasyThe Science Fiction CenturyThe Mammoth Book of Fantasy All-Time Greats
Don't Open This Book!A Magic-Lover's Treasury of the FantasticNebula Awards 32Immortals
The Furthest Horizon
Short stories
The Killing Machine [short story]
The Mitr
The Palace of Love [short story]
The Star King [short story]
Guyal of Sfere (1950)
Liane the Wayfarer (1950)
The Loom of Darkness (1950)
Mazirian the Magician (1950)
T'sais (1950)
Turhan of Miir (1950)
Ulan Dhor (1950)
The New Prime (1951)
Abercrombie Station (1952)
DP! (1953)
The Gift of Gab (1955)
The Men Return [short story] (1957)
The Miracle Workers (1958)Hugo (nominee)
The Moon Moth [short story] (1961)
The Dragon Masters [short story] (1962)Hugo
Green Magic [short story] (1963)
The Overworld (1965)
The Last Castle [short story] (1966)Hugo
The Pilgrims (1966)
The Secret (1966)
Rumfuddle (1973)
Assault on a City (1974)Hugo (nominee)
The Seventeen Virgins [short story] (1974)
The Bagful of Dreams [short story] (1977)World Fantasy (nominee)

Hugo nominee (1959) : The Miracle Workers
Hugo Best Short story winner (1963) : The Dragon Masters [short story]
Hugo winner (1967) : The Last Castle [short story]
Nebula winner (1967) : The Last Castle [short story]
Hugo nominee (1975) : Assault on a City
World Fantasy Best Short story nominee (1978) : The Bagful of Dreams [short story]
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1980)
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1981)
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1982)
Nebula Best Novel nominee (1984) : Suldrun's Garden
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement winner (1984)
World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (1984) : Suldrun's Garden
World Fantasy Best Novel winner (1990) : Madouc

Books about Jack Vance
Jack Vance : Fantasmic Imagination (1990) by Gordon Benson
Jack Vance (1990) by Gordon Benson and Phil Stephensen-Payne
The Work of Jack Vance (1993) by Boden Clarke (Robert Reginald), Jerry Hewett and Daryl F Mallett
An Encyclopedia of Jack Vance, Volume 1 (2002) by David G Mead
An Encyclopedia of Jack Vance, Volume 2 (2002) by David G Mead
An Encyclopedia of Jack Vance, Volume 3 (2002) by David G Mead
The Work of Jack VanceAn Encyclopedia of Jack Vance, Volume 1

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
John Varley
Roger Zelazny
Larry Niven
A E van Vogt
Poul Anderson
Gene Wolfe
Dan Simmons
David Weber
Tad Williams
Charles Stross
Joe Abercrombie
Patrick Rothfuss
Brandon Sanderson
James Patterson
Kurt Vonnegut Jr

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email