New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Alan Dean Foster's picture

Alan Dean Foster

USA (1946 - )

Alan Dean Foster has written in a variety of genres, including hard science fiction, fantasy, horror, detective, western, historical, and contemporary fiction. He is also the author of numerous nonfiction articles on film, science, and scuba diving, as well as novelizations of several films, including Star Wars, the first three Alien films, and Alien Nation. His novel Cyber Way won the Southwest Book Award for Fiction in 1990, the first science fiction work ever to do so.

Foster's love of the far-away and exotic has led him to travel extensively. He's lived in Tahiti and French Polynesia, traveled to Europe, Asia, and throughout the Pacific, and has explored the back roads of Tanzania and Kenya. He has rappelled into New Mexico's fabled Lechugilla Cave, panfried piranha (lots of bones, tastes a lot like trout) in Peru, white-water rafted the length of the Zambezi's Batoka Gorge, and driven solo the length and breadth of Namibia.

Foster and his wife, JoAnn Oxley, reside in Prescott, Arizona, in a house built of brick that was salvaged from a turn-of-the-century miners' brothel. He is presently at work on several new novels and media projects.






Founding of the Commonwealth
1. Phylogenesis (1999)
2. Dirge (2000)
3. Diuturnity's Dawn (2002)
The Founding of the Commonwealth (omnibus) (2002)


Tipping Point trilogy
1. The Human Blend (2010)
2. Body, Inc. (2012)
3. The Sum of Her Parts (2012)

The Metrognome: And Other Stories (1990)
Mad Amos (1996)
Impossible Places (2002)
Exceptions to Reality (2008)
Resistance Front Volume 1 (2012) (with RJ Astruc, Miles Cressman, Harlan Ellison, Keri Knutson, Laurie Laliberte, Douglas Lane, Mike Lewis, James Conroyd Martin, Dwaipayan Regmi, Richard Roberts, Bernard Schaffer, Joshua Unruh and Natasha Whearity)
Graphic Novels
Series contributed to



Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Alan Dean Foster

Short stories
Some Notes Concerning a Green Box (1970)
Why Johnny Can't Speed (1971)
Dream Done Green (1974)
The Horror on the Beach [short story] (1976)
Swamp Planet Christmas (1976)
Bystander (1978)
Snake Eyes (1978)
The Chair (1979) (with Jane Cozart)
Gift of a Useless Man (1979)
What Do the Simple Folk Do...? (1979)
Communication (1981)
The Dark Light Girl (1981)
The Inheritance (1981)
Instant With Loud Voices (1982)
The Last Run (1982)
Surfeit (1982)
Wu-Ling's Folly (1982)
Village of the Chosen (1983)
The Metrognome [short story] (1990)
Diesel Dream (1991)
Laying Veneer (1992)
Lethal Perspective (1992)
Betcha Can't Eat Just One (1993)
Hellado (1993)
We Three Kings (1993)
Empowered (1994)
Fitting Time (1994)
NASA Sending Addicts to Mars! Giant Government Coverup Revealed! (1994)
The Kiss (1995)
The Impossible Place (1996)
The Boy Who Was a Sea (1997)
The Kindness of Strangers (1998)
Procrastinator (1998)
Pein Bek Longpella Telimpon (1999)
Suzy Q (1999)
At Sea (2000)
Chauna (2000)
The Muffin Migration (2000)
A Fatal Exception Has Occurred At. . . (2002)

Prometheus Award Best Novel nominee (1996) : Design for Great-Day

Books about Alan Dean Foster

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
David Weber
Orson Scott Card
Mercedes Lackey
Raymond E Feist
David Drake
Eric Flint
Jim Butcher
Anne McCaffrey
Larry Niven
C J Cherryh
L E Modesitt, Jr
John Ringo
Piers Anthony
Elizabeth Moon
Patricia Briggs

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email