New Authors      New Books      Coming Soon      Most Popular      Top Authors     
C J Cherryh's picture

C J Cherryh

(Carolyn Janice Cherry)
USA (1942 - )

C.J. Cherryth is a four-time winner of the coveted Hugo Award and is one of today's best-selling and most critically acclaimed writers of fantasy and science fiction. She is the author of more than forty novels. Author Home: Spokane, Washington.

Faded Sun
1. Kesrith (1978)
2. Shon'Jir (1979)
3. Kutath (1980)
The Faded Sun Trilogy (omnibus) (1987)



Age of Exploration
1. Port Eternity (1982)
2. Voyager in Night (1984)
3. Cuckoo's Egg (1985)


Alliance-Union : Cyteen
1. The Betrayal (1989)
2. The Rebirth (1989)
3. The Vindication (1989)
4. Regenesis (2009)
Cyteen (omnibus) (1988)

1. Rusalka (1989)
2. Chernevog (1990)
3. Yvgenie (1991)


Series contributed to


Anthologies containing stories by C J Cherryh

Short stories
The Dark King (1976)
Cassandra (1978)Nebula Awards (nominee)
The Dreamstone [short story] (1979)
Ealdwood [short story] (1981)World Fantasy (nominee)
The General (Peking) (1981)
The Haunted Tower (London) (1981)
Highliner (New York) (1981)
Ice (Moscow) (1981)
Nightgame (Rome) (1981)
The Only Death in the City (Paris) (1981)
Willow (1982)
Companions (1984)
Pots (1985)
The Scapegoat (1985)Hugo (nominee)
Winds of Fortune (1989)
Gwydion and the Dragon (1991)World Fantasy (nominee)

John W. Campbell Best New Author winner (1977)
John W. Campbell Best Book winner (1977) : Gate of Ivrel
Hugo Best Short Story winner (1979) : Cassandra
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1979) : Kesrith
Nebula Awards Best Short Story nominee (1979) : Cassandra
Nebula Awards Best Novel nominee (1979) : Kesrith
Hugo Best Novel winner (1982) : Downbelow Station
World Fantasy Best Novella nominee (1982) : Ealdwood [short story]
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1983) : The Pride of Chanur
Philip K Dick Award Best Book nominee (1984) : Voyager in Night
Hugo Best Novel nominee (1986) : Cuckoo's Egg
Hugo Best Novella nominee (1987) : The Scapegoat
Hugo Best Novel winner (1989) : The Betrayal
World Fantasy Best Novella nominee (1992) : Gwydion and the Dragon
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1995) : Fortress in the Eye of Time
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1995) : Invader
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1995) : Rider at the Gate
Prometheus Award Best Novel nominee (1998) : Finity's End
John W Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel nominee (2002) : Hammerfall

C J Cherryh recommends
The Bones of God
The Bones of God (1986)
Stephen Leigh
"Complex, intriguing, unfailingly interesting. I recommend it enthusiastically!"
Firstflight (1987)
(Nicole Shea, book 1)
Chris Claremont
"Impressive ... I give it my enthusiastic recommendation!"
Catspaw (1988)
(Cat, book 2)
Joan D Vinge
A Matter of Oaths
A Matter of Oaths (1990)
Helen S Wright
"Fast-paced and inventive... it held my attention to the end."
Harmonies of The 'Net
Harmonies of The 'Net (1992)
(Groundties, book 3)
Jane Fancher
"Impressive and complex."
Midshipman's Hope
Midshipman's Hope (1994)
(Nicholas Seafort, book 1)
David Feintuch
"It's been a long time since a new writer has held my interest this well...great storytelling."
Ganwold's Child
Ganwold's Child (1995)
(Unified Worlds, book 1)
Diann Thornley
"Grips and holds from the first chapter - a good read."
Regenesis (1995)
Julia Ecklar
"A writer of uncommon imagination and poetic ability."
Derelict for Trade
Derelict for Trade (1997)
(Solar Queen, book 6)
Andre Norton and Sherwood Smith
"Vintage Norton with a new hard edge."
Blackrose Avenue
Blackrose Avenue (2001)
Selina Rosen and Mark Shepherd
"This is a book for the politically timid - those who've forgotten about the 1940's - to read in secret. "
Law of Survival
Law of Survival (2001)
(Jani Kilian, book 3)
Kristine Smith
"First-rate alien characters and a fascinating culture. Innovative storytelling on that chancy interface between what is human and what is not."
The Puppet Master
The Puppet Master (2001)
John Dalmas
"An outstanding writer."
Sanctuary (2002)
(Thieves' World)
Lynn Abbey
"The novels of Lynn Abbey are brilliantly conceived. "
War Surf
War Surf (2005)
(Future World, book 3)
M M Buckner
"An innovative and exciting read. A treat."

Black Ice (2014)
(Midgard, book 2)
Susan Krinard
"A brilliant concept--Norse fantasy in a modern setting. Highly recommended!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
David Weber
Lois McMaster Bujold
Mercedes Lackey
David Drake
Orson Scott Card
Jim Butcher
Jack Campbell
Eric Flint
Elizabeth Moon
L E Modesitt, Jr
Tanya Huff
John Ringo
Patricia Briggs
Terry Brooks
Brandon Sanderson

Search for    

© 2016 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email