New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Lin Carter's picture

Lin Carter

(Linwood Vrooman Carter)
USA (1930 - 1988)

aka H P Lowcraft, Grail Undwin

If J R R Tolkien was the single author most responsible for the existence of Fantasy as a modern publishing genre then the single editor and critic with the same claim was Lin Carter. His tireless advocacy of both modern fantasy writers and their historical forbears as the first editor on the Ballantine Adult Fantasy series was hugely influential.
1. The Wizard of Lemuria (1965)
     aka Thongor and the Wizard of Lemuria
2. Thongor of Lemuria (1966)
     aka Thongor and the Dragon City
3. Thongor against the Gods (1967)
4. Thongor at the End of Time (1968)
5. Thongor in the City of Magicians (1968)
6. Thongor Fights the Pirates of Tarakus (1970)
     aka Thongor and the Pirates of Tarakus
The Wizard of LemuriaThongor of LemuriaThongor against the GodsThongor at the End of Time
Thongor in the City of MagiciansThongor Fights the Pirates of Tarakus
The Man without a PlanetStar RogueOutworlder
The Thief of ThothThe Purloined Planet
Giant of World's EndThe Warrior of World's EndThe Enchantress of World's EndThe Immortal of World's End
The Barbarian of World's EndThe Pirate of World's End
The Quest of KadjiThe Wizard of ZaoKellory the Warlock
Under the Green StarWhen the Green Star CallsBy the Light of the Green StarAs the Green Star Rises
In the Green Star's Glow
Jandar of CallistoBlack Legion of CallistoSky Pirates of CallistoMad Empress of Callisto
Mind Wizards of CallistoLankar of CallistoYlana of CallistoRenegade of Callisto
The Man Who Loved MarsThe Valley Where Time Stood StillThe City Outside the WorldDown to a Sunless Sea
Journey to the Underground WorldZanthodonDarya of the Bronze AgeHurok of the Stone Age
Eric of Zanthodon
Series contributed to
Conan of CimmeriaConan of the IslesConan the BuccaneerConan the Swordsman
Conan the LiberatorSagas of Conan
The Year's Best Fantasy StoriesThe Year's Best Fantasy Stories 2The Year's Best Fantasy Stories 3The Year's Best Fantasy Stories 4
The Year's Best Fantasy Stories 5The Year's Best Fantasy Stories 6
Anthology series
Flashing Swords 1Flashing Swords 2Warriors and WizardsBarbarians and Black Magicians
Demons and Daggers
Weird Tales 1Weird Tales 2Weird Tales 3Weird Tales 4
Anthologies edited
Dragons, Elves and HeroesThe Young MagiciansGolden Cities, FarThe Magic of Atlantis
New Worlds for OldThe Spawn of CthulhuGreat Short Novels of Adult Fantasy Volume 2Great Short Novels of Adult Fantasy
Discoveries in FantasyRealms of Wizardry
Non fiction
Tolkien: A Look Behind the Lord of the RingsLovecraft: A Look Behind the Cthulhu MythosImaginary Worlds
Anthologies containing stories by Lin Carter
The Spawn of CthulhuNameless PlacesThe Year's Best Fantasy Stories 2The Year's Best Fantasy Stories
The Year's Best Fantasy Stories 3Weird LegaciesThe Year's Best Fantasy Stories 4The Year's Best Fantasy Stories 5
The Year's Best Fantasy Stories 6The Hastur Cycle, 2nd EditionThe Shub Niggurath CycleThe Azathoth Cycle
The NecronomiconThe New Lovecraft Circle
Short stories
The Slitherer from the Slime (1958) (as by H P Lowcraft)
Litany to Hastur (1965)
Uncollected Works (1965)Nebula (nominee)
The Doom of Yakthoob (1971)
Black Hawk of Valkarth (1973)
The Utmost Abomination (1973) (with Clark Ashton Smith)
The City of Pillars (1974)
The City in the Jewel (1975)
The Scroll of Morloc (1975) (with Clark Ashton Smith)
Black Moonlight (1976)
The Stairs in the Crypt (1976) (with Clark Ashton Smith)
A Farmer on the Clyde (1977) (as by Grail Undwin)
The Pillars of Hell (1977)
The Gem in the Tower (1978) (with L Sprague de Camp)
Demon of the Snows (1979)
Rhian and Garanhir (1979) (as by Grail Undwin)
Zurvan's Saint (1979) (as by Grail Undwin)
Dreams in the House of Weir (1981)
The Thing Under Memphis (1984)
Mnomquah (1985)
The Vault Beneath the Mosque (1985)
The Madness Out of Time (1986)
Dreams of the Black Lotus (1987)
The Fishers from Outside (1988)
The Shadow from the Stars (1988)
The Thievery of Yish (1988)
Visions From Yaddith (1988)
Carcosa Story about Hali (1989)
The Book of Dismissals: I. Of Calling Up that Which You Cannot Put Down (1990)
The Book of Dismissals: II. Of the Several Modes to Enforce the Dismissal (1990)
The Book of Dismissals: III. Of Ib, and the Vengeance Thereof (1990)
The Book of Dismissals: IV. Of the Five-Pointed Star Carven of Grey Stone (1990)
The Book of Preparations: I. Of the Powers of the Sorcerer (1990)
The Book of Preparations: II. Of that Which Is Needful to Sorcery (1990)
The Book of Preparations: III. Of the Old Ones and the Favors They Bestow (1990)
The Book of Preparations: IV. Of the Times and Seasons to Be Observed (1990)
The Book of Preparations: V. Of the Powers of the Moon (1990)
The Book of Preparations: VI. Concerning Them from Outside (1990)
The Book of Preparations: VII. The Punishment of the Old Ones (1990)
The Book of Preparations: VIII. Of that Which Is Foretold of Their Return (1990)
The Book of Preparations: IX. The Liers-in-Wait (1990)
The Book of the Gates: I. Of the Worlds Beyond this World, and the Modes of Travel (1990)
The Book of the Gates: II. Of Foul Necromancy (1990)
The Book of the Gates: III. The Peril that Lurketh Beyond Time (1990)
The Book of the Gates: IV. Those that Aid the Unnamable Devourers (1990)
The Book of the Gates: IX. Of the Dream-Gates (1990)
The Book of the Gates: V. Of Tindalos, and the Hounds Thereof (1990)
The Book of the Gates: VI. If Ye Would Raise the Dead (1990)
The Book of the Gates: VII. To Send Back Down that Which Ye Have Called Up (1990)
The Book of the Gates: VIII. Of the Signs of Hnaa (1990)
The Book of the Gates: X. Of Koth, and the Sign of Koth (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XI. The Ritual of the Silver Key (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XII. 'Umr At-Tawil (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XIII. Of Opening the Door to Yog-Sothoth (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XIV. The Ninth Verse that Summoneth Yog-Sothoth (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XV. Of Them from Outside and Their Spawn (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XVI. Somewhat of the Gates that Open to Beyond (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XVII. Of Leng and the Mysteries Thereof (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XVIII. Of the Coming Hence of the Old Ones (1990)
The Book of the Gates: XIX. The Openers of the Way (1990)
King in Yellow: A Tragedy in Verse (1993)
Tatters of the King (1997)

Nebula Best Short story nominee (1966) : Uncollected Works

Lin Carter recommends
The Wood Beyond the World
The Wood Beyond the World (1894)
William Morris
"With his epochal novels of the 1880s, William Morris established the tradition of the tale set in a completely imaginary world of the author's own invention."
The Legion of Time
The Legion of Time (1938)
(Legion of Time, book 1)
Jack Williamson
"The Legion of Time is an unparalleled classic of thrill packed excitement - possibly the greatest single adventure story in science-fiction history, a suspense-masterpiece of weird science and derring-do, like no other I've read. I deeply envy anyone who is reading it for the first time."
Merlin's Ring
Merlin's Ring (1974)
(Merlin's Godson, book 3)
H Warner Munn
"Seldom have I encountered a more ambitious narrative in my exploration of fantasy, and seldom has a gripping human drama of such strength and vigor invested a story of such sweep and scope and vaulting imaginative power."
Ironbrand (1980)
(Iron Angel, book 1)
John Morressy
"Crisp, vivid, exciting. A brilliant heroic fantasy debut."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Orson Scott Card
Jeffrey A Carver
C J Cherryh
L Sprague de Camp
Jack L Chalker
Arthur C Clarke
Edgar Rice Burroughs
Larry Niven
Poul Anderson
Glen Cook
Jim Butcher
Jack Campbell
Greg Bear
Lois McMaster Bujold
Terry Brooks

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email