New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Brian M Stableford's picture

Brian Stableford

(Brian Michael Stableford)
UK (1948 - )

aka Brian Craig

Brian Stableford has written 75 books, including 50 novels. In 1999 he was the recipient of the Science Fiction Research Association's Pilgrim Award for his contributions to sf scholarship, completing his set of the four major awards available in that field - the others being the SFRA's Pioneer Award (1996), the Distinguished Scholarship Award of the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts (1987) and the J. Lloyd Eaton Award (1987). His recent non-fiction includes Yesterday's Bestsellers and Glorious Perversity: The Decline and Fall of Literary Decadence, both published by Borgo Press in 1998. He also works in the field of the popularization of science, in which he is currently producing a series of "LabNotes" pamphlets on recent developments in medical biotechnology for the Education Division of the Wellcome Trust. He occasionally translates obscure 19th century fantasies from the French, his most recent endeavour in that vein being Paul Feval's 1869 account of Vampire City, issued by Sarob Press, 1999.

The Hooded Swan series was written while he was a postgraduate student at the University of York, initially in the Biology department and later in Sociology. He taught Sociology for 12 years at the University of Reading before becoming a full-time writer in 1988.



1. Asgard's Secret (1982)
     aka Journey to the Center
2. Asgard's Conquerors (1990)
     aka Invaders from the Centre
3. Asgard's Heart (1990)
     aka The Centre Cannot Hold



Series contributed to
Anthologies edited

Non fiction
Glorious Perversity: The Decline and Fall of Literary Decadence (1968)
Clash of Symbols: The Triumph of James Blish (1969)
The Mysteries of Modern Science (1977)
Masters of Science Fiction: Essays on Science-Fiction Authors (1981)
Future Man: Brave New World or Genetic Nightmare? (1984)
Scientific Romance in Britain, 1890-1950 (1985)
Algebraic Fantasies and Realistic Romances: More Masters of Science Fiction (1986)
The Sociology of Science Fiction (1987)
Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction, and Getting Published (1987)
The Way to Write Science Fiction (1989)
Opening Minds: Essays on Fantastic Literature (1995)
Outside the Human Aquarium: Masters of Science Fiction (1995)
Teach Yourself Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction (1997)
Slaves of the Death Spiders: Essays on Fantastic Literature (1998)
Space, Time, and Infinity: Essays on Fantastic Literature (1998)
Yesterday's Bestsellers: Journey Through Literary History (1998)
The Dictionary of Science Fiction Places (1999)
Historical Dictionary of Science Fiction Literature (2004)
Historical Dictionary of Fantasy Literature (2005)
The A to Z of Science Fiction Literature (2005)
Science Fact and Science Fiction (2006)
Heterocosms (2007)
The Devil's Party: A Brief History of Satanic Abuse (2009)
Gothic Grotesques: Essays on Fantastic Literature (2009)
Jaunting on the Scoriac Tempests: And Other Essays on Fantastic Literature (2009)
News of the Black Feast: And Other Random Reviews (2009)
The A to Z of Fantasy Literature (2009)
Against the New Gods: And Other Essays on Writers of Imaginative Fiction (2009)
Creators of Science Fiction (2009)
Exotic Encounters: Selected Reviews (2009)
Narrative Strategies in Science Fiction: And Other Essays on Imaginative Fiction (2009)
The Decadent World-View (2010)
Writing Fantasy and Science Fiction (2011)
Anthologies containing stories by Brian Stableford

Short stories
Sad Story (1974)
The Engineer and the Executioner (1975)
Judas Story (1976)
Security (1979)
And He Not Busy Being Born (1986)
The Man Who Loved the Vampire Lady (1988)
Wildland (1989)
Bedside Conversations (1990)
Behind the Wheel (1990)
The Shepherd's Daughter (1990)
Innocent Blood (1991)
Justice (1991)
The Innsmouth Heritage [short story] (1992)
Another Bad Day in Bedlam (1993)
The Devil's Men (1994)
Les Fleurs du Mal (1994)Hugo (nominee)
The Unkindness of Ravens (1994)
The Exploration of Inner Space (1995)
The Hunger and Ecstasy of Vampires [short story] (1995)
Mortimer Gray's History of Death (1995)Nebula (nominee)
Out of Touch (1995)
The House of Mourning (1996)Bram Stoker (nominee)
Chacun sa Goule (1997)
The Pipes of Pan (1997)
Quality Control (1997)
Seers (1997)
True Collectors (1997)
O for a Fiery Gloom and Thee (1998)
Chanterelle (2000)
The Haunted Bookshop [short story] (2000)

Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Novel nominee (1989) : The Empire of Fear
Hugo nominee (1995) : Les Fleurs du Mal
Nebula nominee (1996) : Mortimer Gray's History of Death
Bram Stoker Best Short story nominee (1997) : The House of Mourning

Books about Brian Stableford
Brian Stableford recommends
Taste of Blood Wine
Taste of Blood Wine (1992)
(Blood , book 1)
Freda Warrington
"Should not be missed."
Perdido Street Station
Perdido Street Station (2000)
(New Crobuzon, book 1)
China Miéville
"A phantasmagoric masterpiece whose grotesquerie is unmatched by any other work of contempory imaginative fiction. Its surreal imagery recalls the work of Hieronymus Bosch, and only a writer ov the very highest quality could bind such a hectic torrent of exotica into a plot as taut and compelling as this one."
The Five of Cups
The Five of Cups (2003)
Caitlín R Kiernan
" Caitlin Kiernan's The Five of Cups is a clamorous riot of a book: vivid, violent and viperish. It has that precious raw power which the best first novels always have, uncalmed by dulling practice and uninhibited by censorious wariness."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Michael A Stackpole
Bruce Sterling
Neal Stephenson
Tad Williams
Bud Sparhawk
Dan Simmons
Cordwainer Smith
Clifford D Simak
S M Stirling
Brian Craig
Charles Stross
E E 'Doc' Smith
Anne McCaffrey
Allen Steele
Jack Vance

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email