New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Eric Brown's picture

Eric Brown

UK (1960 - )

Eric Brown was born in Haworth, Yorkshire, in May 1960, and began writing in 1975. In the 1980s he travelled extensively throughout Greece and Asia (some of his novels are set in India). His first publication was in 1982, when his play for children, Noel's Ark, appeared.

His career took off in the late eighties with a succession of short stories in Interzone and other publications. His story The Time-Lapsed Man won the Interzone readers' poll for the most admired story of 1988, and an Eastercon short text award in 1995. He was voted the Best New European SF writer of the Year in the early nineties and has subsequently won the British Science Fiction Award twice (for the short stories Hunting the Slarque in 1999 and Children of Winter in 2001). He should not be confused with Eric J. Brown, the co-author of The Effective CIO, a technical book on Information Technology.

He has publicly admired the science-fiction writing of Michael G. Coney, Robert Silverberg, Richard Paul Russo and Robert Charles Wilson, amongst others.
New York NightsNew York BluesNew York Dreams
1. Helix (2007)
2. Helix Wars (2012)
HelixHelix Wars
Bengal Station Trilogy
1. Necropath (2008)
2. Xenopath (2009)
3. Cosmopath (2009)
The Devil's NebulaSatan's ReachThe Baba Yaga
Langham and Dupre Mystery
1. Murder by the Book (2013)
2. Murder at the Chase (2014)
Murder by the BookMurder at the Chase
Jani and the Greater Game
1. Jani and the Greater Game (2014)
Jani and the Greater Game
Famadihana on Fomalhaut IVSacrifice on Spica III
Series contributed to
UntouchableWalkaboutThe Web 2027
The Mammoth Book of New Jules Verne StoriesThe Mammoth Book of New Jules Verne Adventures
Anthologies containing stories by Eric Brown
Space StoriesNew WorldsThe Best of InterzoneDark Terrors 5
Short stories
Downtime in the MKCR (1994)
Status Extinct (1996)
Ferryman (1997)
Beauregard (2000)
Destiny on Tartarus (2000)

Eric Brown recommends
Lord of Stone
Lord of Stone (2001)
Keith Brooke
"Satisfying prose ... well realised and visualised characters ... powerful and vivid portrayal of the conditions of war."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Peter F Hamilton
Eric S Brown
Neal Asher
Alastair Reynolds
Stephen Baxter
Greg Bear
James S A Corey
David Brin
Kevin J Anderson
Dan Brown
Jack McDevitt
Larry Niven
David Weber
Terry Brooks
David Drake

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email