New Authors      New Books      Coming Soon      Most Popular      Top Authors     
Peter F Hamilton's picture

Peter F Hamilton

UK (1960 - )

Peter F. Hamilton was born in Rutland in 1960, and now lives near Rutland Water. He began writing in 1987, and sold his first short story to Fear magazine in 1988. He has also been published in Interzone and the In Dreams and New Worlds anthologies, and several small press publications.


Night's Dawn : Reality Dysfunction
1. Emergence (1997)
2. Expansion (1997)
Night's Dawn : Neutronium Alchemist
1. Consolidation (1998)
2. Conflict (1998)
Night's Dawn : Naked God
1. Flight (2000)
2. Faith (2000)
Commonwealth: Chronicle of the Fallers
1. The Abyss Beyond Dreams (2014)
2. A Night Without Stars (2016)
Queen of Dreams
1. The Secret Throne (2014)
     aka The Queen of Dreams
2. The Hunting of the Princes (2016)
Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Peter F Hamilton

Short stories
Deathday (1991)
Falling Stones (1992)
Adam's Gene (1993)
Spare Capacity (1993)
Eat Reecebread (1994) (with Graham Joyce)
Escape Route (1997)
The White Stuff (1997) (with Graham Joyce)
A Second Chance at Eden [short story] (1998)
The Suspect Genome (2000)

Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Book nominee (2002) : Fallen Dragon
John W Campbell Memorial Award Best Novel nominee (2002) : Fallen Dragon

Peter F Hamilton recommends
Silver Screen
Silver Screen (1999)
Justina Robson
"Perfect blend of excitement and thought-provoking concepts ... far above the ordinary."
Perdido Street Station
Perdido Street Station (2000)
(New Crobuzon, book 1)
China Miéville
"China Mieville's cool style has conjured up a triumphantly macabre technoslip metropolis with a unique atmosphere of horror and fascination. A kind of imaginary world you pray stays imaginary, because we really don't need characters and stories this real finding a way to cross over."
On (2001)
Adam Roberts
"Adam Roberts has got what it takes."
New York Blues
New York Blues (2002)
(Virex, book 2)
Eric Brown
"Eric Brown is the name to watch in SF."
The Hyperion Omnibus
The Hyperion Omnibus (2004)
Dan Simmons
"Sets the standard for SF in the new century."

The Black Lung Captain (2010)
(Tale of the Ketty Jay, book 2)
Chris Wooding
"The kind of old-fashioned adventure I didn't think we were allowed to write anymore..."

The Dark Between the Stars (2014)
(Saga of Shadows, book 1)
Kevin J Anderson
"Kevin J Anderson writes the kind of entertaining and inventive space opera that is exactly what i want to read. The saga of Seven Suns was a triumphant milestone in the genre. I can't wait to get started on the Saga of Shadows."

Quantum Mythology (2015)
Gavin Smith
"Age Of Scorpio announces loud and clear that in Gavin Smith an exceptional talent has arrived to uplift SF."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Alastair Reynolds
Neal Asher
Stephen Baxter
James S A Corey
Brandon Sanderson
Patrick Rothfuss
David Weber
Jack Campbell
Kevin J Anderson
Robin Hobb
Raymond E Feist
George R R Martin
Jim Butcher
Terry Brooks
Clive Cussler

Search for    

© 2016 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email