New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Ed McBain's picture

Ed McBain

A pseudonym used by Evan Hunter

Ed McBain was the first American to receive the Diamond Dagger, the British Crime Writers Association's highest award. He also holds the Mystery Writers of America's coveted Grand Master Award, and received an Edgar Award nomination for his novel Money, Money, Money. His books have sold more than one hundred million copies, ranging from the more than fifty titles in his outstanding 87th Precinct series to the bestselling novels The Blackboard Jungle and Criminal Conversation, written under his own name, Evan Hunter.

Bingo Riggs and Handsome Kusak (with Craig Rice)
3. The April Robin Murders (1958)

Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Ed McBain
Short stories
"J" (1961)
Where or When (1998)

Edgar Awards Best Novel nominee (2002) : Money, Money, Money

Ed McBain recommends
Pale Gray for Guilt
Pale Gray for Guilt (1968)
(Travis McGee, book 9)
John D MacDonald
"...what a joy that these timeless and treasured novels are available again."
Uncivil Seasons
Uncivil Seasons (1983)
(Savile and Mangum, book 1)
Michael Malone
"Two of the most memorable police detectives to appear in mystery fiction."
Along Came a Spider
Along Came a Spider (1993)
(Alex Cross, book 1)
James Patterson
"All at once comes Along Came a Spider, with terror and suspense that graps the reader and won't let go. Just try running away from this one."
Hard Currency
Hard Currency (1995)
(Inspector Rostnikov, book 9)
Stuart M Kaminsky
"Kaminski gets Russia right, and Cuba right, but best of all he gets his superb cop Rostnikov altogether right yet another time. Bravo!"
Oyster Blues
Oyster Blues (2002)
Michael McClelland
"A fresh and fiercely funny new voice... Reads like a cool breeze over ruffled waters. What a joy!"
The Shattered Blue Line
The Shattered Blue Line (2005)
Patrick A Davis
"More twists and turns than an aerial stunt show... A gripping military thriller."
The Blackjack Conspiracy
The Blackjack Conspiracy (2005)
(Department Thirty, book 3)
David Kent
"A rollicking read. Page-turning action and riveting suspense are David Kent's stock in trade."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Evan Hunter
James Patterson
Lee Child
David Baldacci
Alexander McCall Smith
Robert B Parker
J D Robb
Val McDermid
Michael Connelly
Stuart MacBride
Jonathan Kellerman
Robert Ludlum
Patricia Cornwell
John D MacDonald
Karin Slaughter

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email