New Authors      New Books      Coming Soon      Most Popular      Top Authors     
John D MacDonald's picture

John D MacDonald

USA (1916 - 1986)

John D MacDonald was born in Sharon, Pa, and educated at the Universities of Pennsylvania, Syracuse and Harvard, where he took an MBA in 1939. After war service in the Far East he wrote hundreds of stories for the pulps and over seventy novels, including the 21 in the Travis McGee sequence.


Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by John D MacDonald

Short stories
They Let Me Live (1947)
A Child Is Crying (1948)
Ring Around the Redhead (1948)
She Cannot Die (1948)
A Time for Dying (1948)
Amphiskios (1949)
Murder in Mind (1949)
Breathe No More (1950)
Check Out at Dawn (1950)
Dead on the Pin (1950)
Death Writes the Answer (1950)
From Some Hidden Grave (1950)
Miranda (1950)
Spectator Sport (1950)
A Trap for the Careless (1950)
The White Fruit of Banaldar (1951)
Murder for Money (1952)
Noose for a Tigress (1952)
Hangover (1956)
The Legend of Joe Lee (1964)
The Annex (1968)
Homicidal Hiccup (1979)

Books about John D MacDonald
The Red Hot Typewriter (2000) by Hugh Merrill
John D MacDonald recommends
The Killing Game
The Killing Game (1978)
Ron Faust
"A strong, tough novel with that flavour of inevitability that seasons the good ones."
End of the Line
End of the Line (1981)
(A.T.T. Baldwin Mystery)
Shannon O'Cork
"I like best pages 8, 85 and 183."
Three With a Bullet
Three With a Bullet (1985)
(Jacob Asch, book 8)
Arthur Lyons
"Lyons writes with grace and energy."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Ross MacDonald
James Patterson
Michael Connelly
David Baldacci
Lee Child
Robert B Parker
Clive Cussler
John F McDonald
John Grisham
Robert Crais
Stephen King
John Sandford
Jonathan Kellerman
Jeffery Deaver
Tess Gerritsen

Search for    

© 2016 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email