New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Lawrence Block's picture

Lawrence Block

USA (1938 - )

aka Ben Christopher, Jill Emerson, Chip Harrison, Paul Kavanagh, Sheldon Lord, John Warren Wells

A Mystery Writers of America Grand Master, Lawrence Block is a four-time winner of the Edgar Allan Poe and Shamus Awards, as well as a recipient of prizes in France, Germany, and Japan. The author of more than fifty books and numerous short stories, he is a devout New Yorker who spends much of his time traveling.
Evan Tanner
1. The Thief Who Couldn't Sleep (1966)
2. The Cancelled Czech (1966)
3. Tanner's Twelve Swingers (1967)
4. Two for Tanner (1967)
     aka The Scoreless Thai
5. Tanner's Tiger (1968)
6. Here Comes a Hero (1968)
     aka Tanner's Virgin
7. Me Tanner, You Jane (1970)
8. Tanner on Ice (1998)




Kept (1960) (as by Sheldon Lord)
The Specialists (1960)
The Case of the Pornographic Photos (1961)
     aka Markham / You Could Call it Murder
Death Pulls a Doublecross (1961)
     aka Coward's Kiss
Mona (1961)
     aka Sweet Slow Death / Grifter's Game
The Sisterhood (1963) (as by Sheldon Lord)
     aka Women in Love
Warm and Willing (1964) (as by Jill Emerson)
Enough of Sorrow (1965) (as by Jill Emerson)
The Girl with the Long Green Heart (1965)
Deadly Honeymoon (1967)
After the First Death (1969)
Such Men Are Dangerous (1969) (as by Paul Kavanagh)
Threesome (1970) (as by Jill Emerson)
Ronald Rabbit Is a Dirty Old Man (1971)
The Triumph of Evil (1972) (as by Paul Kavanagh)
Sensuous (1972) (as by Jill Emerson)
The Trouble with Eden (1973) (as by Jill Emerson)
Not Comin' Home to You (1974) (as by Paul Kavanagh)
A Week As Andrea Benstock (1975) (as by Jill Emerson)
Ariel (1979)
Code of Arms (1981) (with Harold King)
Into the Night (1987) (with Cornell Woolrich)
Random Walk (1988)
The Perfect Murder: Five Great Mystery Writers Create the Perfect Crime (1991) (with Sarah Caudwell, Tony Hillerman and Jack Hitt)
Batman's Helpers (1999)
The Lost Cases of Ed London (2001)
Cinderella Sims (2002)
Small Town: A Novel of New York (2003)
Lucky at Cards (2007)
A Diet of Treacle (2008)
Killing Castro (2008)
April North (2010)
Community of Women (2010) (as by Sheldon Lord)
A Girl Called Honey (2010) (with Donald E Westlake)
Grifter's Game (2010)
A Madwoman's Diary (2010) (as by Jill Emerson)
Sin Hellcat (2010) (with Donald E Westlake)
So Willing (2010) (with Donald E Westlake)
Thirty (2010) (as by Jill Emerson)
Candy (2011) (as by Sheldon Lord)
Carla (2011) (as by Sheldon Lord)
A Strange Kind of Love (2011) (as by Sheldon Lord)
Getting Off (2011) (as by Jill Emerson)
69 Barrow Street (2012) (as by Sheldon Lord)
Strange Embrace (2012) (as by Ben Christopher)
Borderline (2014)
The Girl With the Deep Blue Eyes (2015)

Strange Embrace / 69 Barrow Street (2012) (as by Ben Christopher)

Series contributed to
Anthologies edited

Non fiction

Anthologies containing stories by Lawrence Block

Short stories
Make a Prison (1958)
Hot Eyes, Cold Eyes (1978)
How Would You Like It? (1993)
The Tulsa Experience (1993)
The Burglar Who Dropped in on Elvis [short story] (1994)
Headaches and Bad Dreams (1997)

Shamus Awards Best Novel winner (1983) : Eight Million Ways to Die
Shamus Awards Best Novel nominee (1990) : Out on the Cutting Edge
Shamus Awards Best Novel nominee (1991) : A Ticket to the Boneyard
Edgar Awards Best Novel winner (1992) : A Dance at the Slaughterhouse
Shamus Awards Best Novel nominee (1992) : A Dance at the Slaughterhouse
Shamus Awards Best Novel winner (1994) : The Devil Knows You're Dead
Edgar Awards Best Novel nominee (1995) : A Long Line of Dead Men
Shamus Awards Best Novel nominee (1995) : A Long Line of Dead Men

Lawrence Block recommends
The Specialty of the House: And Other Stories
The Specialty of the House: And Other Stories (1967)
Stanley Ellin
"Ellin consistently wrote the best mystery stories of his time."
A Fine Red Rain
A Fine Red Rain (1987)
(Inspector Rostnikov, book 4)
Stuart M Kaminsky
"Porfiry Rostnikov is a treasure."
First Kill All the Lawyers
First Kill All the Lawyers (1988)
(Samantha Adams, book 1)
Sarah Shankman
"Right on target... A rollicking good read."
Dead Pan
Dead Pan (1992)
(Jocelyn O'Roarke, book 4)
Jane Dentinger
"Jocelyn O'Rourke is bright, sophisticated, gorgeous, tough-minded, funny, and very good company."
See No Evil
See No Evil (1998)
(Marti MacAlister, book 6)
Eleanor Taylor Bland
"She's anything but bland... sharp and sassy and right on the money."
Gangsters and Gold Diggers: Old New York, the Jazz Age, And the Birth of Broadway
Gangsters and Gold Diggers: Old New York, the Jazz Age, And the Birth of Broadway (2003)
Jerome Charyn
"The richest imagination in contemporary American letters."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Michael Connelly
David Baldacci
Lee Child
Robert Crais
James Patterson
John Sandford
C J Box
Harlan Coben
James Lee Burke
Jeffery Deaver
Sue Grafton
Janet Evanovich
John Grisham
Patricia Cornwell
J A Jance

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email