New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
R Chetwynd-Hayes's picture

R Chetwynd-Hayes

(Ronald Henry Glynn Chetwynd-Hayes)
UK (1919 - 2001)

aka Angus Campbell

Ronald Chetwynd-Hayes was an author, best known for his ghost stories. His first published work was the science fiction novel The Man From The Bomb in 1959. He went on to publish many collections and ten other novels including The Grange, The Haunted Grange, And Love Survived and The Curse of the Snake God. He also edited over 20 anthologies. Several of his short works were adapted into anthology style movies in the United Kingdom, including The Monster Club and From Beyond the Grave. Chetwynd-Hayes' book The Monster Club contains references to a film-maker called Vinke Rocnnor, an anagram of Kevin Connor, the director of From Beyond the Grave.

He won the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement for 1988, and the British Fantasy Society Special Award in 1989.

Chetwynd-Hayes passed away from bronchial pneumonia on March 20th, 2001.
Clavering Grange
1. The King's Ghost (1985)
     aka The Grange
2. Tales from the Hidden World (1988)
3. The Haunted Grange (1988)
Anthologies edited
The World of the Impossible
Cornish Tales of Terror (1970)
Scottish Tales of Terror (1972) (as by Angus Campbell)
The 9th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1973)
Welsh Tales of Terror (1973)
The 10th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1974)
The 1st Armada Monster Book (1975)
The First Armada Monster Book (1975)
Tales of Terror From Outer Space (1975)
The 11th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1975)
The 12th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1976)
The 2nd Armada Monster Book (1976)
Gaslight Tales of Terror (1976)
The 13th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1977)
The 3rd Armada Monster Book (1977)
The 4th Armada Monster Book (1978)
The Fourth Armada Monster Book (1978)
Doomed to the Night: An Anthology of Great Ghost Stories (1978)
The 14th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1978)
The 5th Armada Monster Book (1979)
The Fifth Armada Monster Book (1979)
The 15th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1979)
The 6th Armada Monster Book (1980)
The 16th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1980)
The 17th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1981)
The Sixth Armada Monster Book (1981)
The 18th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1982)
The 19th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1983)
Great Ghost Stories (1984) (with Stephen Jones)
The 20th Fontana Book of Great Ghost Stories (1984)
The Fourth Book of After Midnight Stories (1988)
Looking for Something to Suck: And Other Vampire Stories (1998) (with Stephen Jones)
Phantoms and Fiends (2000)
Frights and Fancies (2002)
Tales to Freeze the Blood: More Great Ghost Stories (2006) (with Stephen Jones)

Anthologies containing stories by R Chetwynd-Hayes

Short stories
An Act of Kindness
Birds of a Feather
The Changeling
Coming Home
The Cost of Dying
The Day Father Brought Something
The Day of the Underdog
Dead Ghost
The Death of Me
The Elemental [short story]
The Fourth Side of the Triangle
The Headless Footman of Hadleigh
The House
In Media Res
It Came to Dinner
A Matter of Life and Death
Matthew and Luke
Never Take Drinks from a Strange Woman
The Ninth Removal
The Playmate
The Resurrectionist
The Sale of the Century
The Shadow
Someone is Dead
The Thing
A Time to Plant-A Time to Reap
The Wanderer
Who is Mr Smith?
Looking For Something to Suck [short story] (1969)
The Monster (1970)
A Family Welcome (1971)
The Playmat (1971)
The Door (1973)
Great-Grandad Walks Again (1973)
The Liberated Tiger (1973)
Birth (1974)
The Coloured Transmission (1974)
The Jumpity-Jim (1974)
The Labyrinth (1974)
Non-Paying Passengers (1974)
Danger in Numbers (1975)
The Ghost Who Limped (1975)
The Sad Vampire (1975)
Shipwreck (1975)
Calvunder (1976)
Cold Fingers (1976)
Keep the Gaslight Burning (1976)
The Werewolf and the Vampire (1976)
My Dear Wife (1977)
The Cradle Demon [short story] (1978)
The Creator (1978)
My Mother Married a Vampire (1978)
My Very Best Friend (1978)
The Sad Ghost (1978)
The Hanging Tree (1979)
A Vindictive Woman (1979)
Amelia (1980)
The Buck (1980)
She Walks on Dry Land (1980)
Tomorrow's Ghost (1981)
Which One? (1981)
The Chair (1982)
A living Legend (1982)
Markland the Hunter (1982)
One Extra (1982)
The Painted Door (1982)
Shadow on the Wall (1982)
The Swing (1982)
Body and Soul (1984)
Acquiring a Family (1986)
Louis (1987)
Rudolph (1987)
Fog Ghost (1988)
The Frankenstein Syndrome (1992)
The Bed-Sitting Room (1995)
The Cumberloo (1995)
The Intruders (1995)
The Man in Black (1995)
Night of the Road (1995)
Old Acquaintance (1995)
Twilight Song (1995)
One-Way Trip (1997)
The Fundamental Elemental (1998)

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Erskine Caldwell
Colleen Connally
Julian Clary
Peter Cocks
Erskine Childers
Bobby Cole
Joshua Cohen
F Marion Crawford
Simon Cheshire
Mary Williams
Mia Couto
Robert Drewe
Nikolai Chernyshevsky
Brent Crawford
Rebecca Cramer

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email