New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
M John Harrison's picture

M John Harrison

(Michael John Harrison)
UK (1945 - )

aka Gabriel King

Michael John Harrison was born in Rugby, Warwickshire in 1945 and now lives in London.
Harrison is stylistically an Imagist and his early work relies heavily on the use of strange juxtapositions characteristic of absurdism.
1. The Pastel City (1971)
2. A Storm of Wings (1980)
3. In Viriconium (1982)
     aka The Floating Gods
4. Viriconium Nights (1984)
Viriconium (omnibus) (2005)
The Pastel CityA Storm of WingsIn ViriconiumViriconium Nights
LightNova SwingEmpty Space
Anthologies containing stories by M John Harrison
New Writings in SF 12New Writings in SF 13New Writings in SF 14Again Dangerous Visions Book 2
New Worlds 7New Worlds 8New Terrors 2Prime Evil
The Year's Best Fantasy First Annual CollectionThe Year's Best Fantasy Second Annual CollectionStrange DreamsThe Year's Best Fantasy and Horror Sixth Annual Collection
Best New Horror 4The Giant Book of TerrorLittle DeathsThe Year's Best Fantasy and Horror Eighth Annual Collection
Sisters of the NightThe Best New Horror 6The Shimmering DoorThe Road to Science Fiction 5: The British Way
The Year's Best Science Fiction Seventeenth Annual Collection
Short stories
The Incalling
The New Rays
The Macbeth Expiation (1968)
Visions of Monad (1968)
Green Five Renegade (1969)
Lamia Mutable (1972)
Absorbing the Miraculous (1974)
'The Wolf that Follows' (1974)
Running Down (1975)
Settling the World (1975)
The Ice Monkey [short story] (1980)
The Quarry (1983)
The Luck in the Head [short story] (1984)
The Dancer from the Dance (1985)
Small Heirlooms (1987)
The Great God Pan (1988)
Anima [short story] (1992)
The Dead (1992) (with Simon Ings)
Isobel Avens Returns to Stepney in the Spring (1994)
Empty (1995)
Seven Guesses of the Heart (1996)
Suicide Coast (1999)

World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1985) : Viriconium Nights
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1997) : Signs of Life
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (2001) : Travel Arrangements
Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Novel nominee (2003) : Light
British Science Fiction Association Best Novel nominee (2006) : Nova Swing
Arthur C. Clarke Award Best Novel winner (2007) : Nova Swing
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (2007) : Nova Swing
Philip K Dick Award winner (2007) : Nova Swing

M John Harrison recommends
Tunnel Through the Deeps
Tunnel Through the Deeps (1972)
Harry Harrison
"A genuine flavour of Verne ... very enjoyable."
Perdido Street Station
Perdido Street Station (2000)
(New Crobuzon, book 1)
China Miéville
"Energetic, thuggish, constantly inventive China Mieville continues his project of rebuilding fantasy from the sub cellar up. New Crobuzon, city of clockwork engine and subterranean punishment factory, has the architectonics of a living thing. It is a site of elation, dispute, danger and change: a city raucous with dreams."
The Director's Cut
The Director's Cut (2000)
Nicholas Royle
"Real talent."
The Quality of Light
The Quality of Light (2001)
Christopher Kenworthy
"A curious and powerful novel. Magic and rage among people trapped in the sticky residues of their own needs."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Harry Harrison
China Miéville
Peter F Hamilton
Dan Simmons
Neil Gaiman
Laurell K Hamilton
Ian Douglas
Ursula K Le Guin
Stephen King
Stephen Donaldson
Ken Follett
Joe Abercrombie
Jack Campbell
Brandon Sanderson
Lev Grossman

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email