New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Patrick McCabe's picture

Patrick McCabe

Ireland (1955 - )

Patrick McCabe is an Irish novelist, known for his mostly dark and violent novels set in contemporary, often small-town, Ireland. His books include The Butcher Boy (1992) and Breakfast on Pluto (1998), both shortlisted for the Booker Prize. He has also written a children's book (The Adventures of Shay Mouse) and several radio plays broadcast by the RTÉ and the BBC Radio 4. The Butcher Boy and Breakfast on Pluto have both been adapted into films by Irish director Neil Jordan. He is also the author of a children's book, The Adventures of Shay Mouse (1985), and a collection of linked short stories, Mondo Desperado, published in 1999. The play Frank Pig Says Hello, which he adapted from The Butcher Boy, was first performed at the Dublin Theatre Festival in 1992.

McCabe lives in Sligo in Ireland with his wife, Margo and two daughters, Katie and Ellen. His recent novel, Emerald Germs of Ireland (2001), is a black comedy featuring matricide Pat McNab and his attempts to fend off nosy neighbours. His latest novel, Winterwood, was published in 2006, and was named the 2007 Hughes & Hughes/Irish Independent Irish Novel of the Year.
Non fiction
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1992) : The Butcher Boy
Bram Stoker Best Novel nominee (1995) : The Butcher Boy
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1998) : Breakfast on Pluto
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel nominee (2008) : Winterwood

Patrick McCabe recommends
A Goat's Song
A Goat's Song (1994)
Dermot Healy
"A book that demands to be savored, eaten, slept with... "

Grace Williams Says It Loud (2010)
Emma Henderson
"Scaringly assured, poetic and engaging."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Colum McCann
Johan Theorin
Ed McBain
David Morrell
Patrick McGrath
David Hewson
Kazuo Ishiguro
Andrea Camilleri
David Lodge
Dermot Bolger
R J Ellory
Lori Copeland
Stuart MacBride
Nick Stone
Anne McCaffrey

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email