New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Shirley Jackson's picture

Shirley Jackson

USA (1916 - 1965)

The late Shirley Jackson is the author of the classic short story, "The Lottery," a dark, unforgettable tale of the unthinking and murderous customs of a small New England town. She is also the author of several American Gothic novels, such as We Have Always Lived in the Castle and The Haunting of Hill House. Her atmospheric stories explore themes of psychological turmoil, isolation, and the inequity of fate.
Non fiction series
Life among the Savages
1. Life among the Savages (1953)
2. Raising Demons (1959)
Anthologies containing stories by Shirley Jackson

Short stories
The Bus
Dorothy and My Grandmother and the Sailors
After You, My Dear Alphonse (1943)
Afternoon in Linen (1943)
Come Dance with Me in Ireland (1943)
Colloquy (1944)
A Fine Old Firm (1944)
Trial By Combat (1944)
The Villager (1944)
Men with Their Big Shoes (1947)
Charles [short story] (1948)
The Daemon Lover (1948)
The Lottery [short story] (1948)
Pillar of Salt (1948)
The Renegade (1948)
Seven Types of Ambiguity (1948)
The Tooth (1948)
The Dummy (1949)
Elizabeth (1949)
Flower Garden (1949)
Got a Letter from Jimmy (1949)
The Intoxicated (1949)
Like Mother Used to Make (1949)
My Life with R. H. Macy (1949)
Of Course (1949)
The Witch (1949)
The Lovely House (1950)
The Summer People (1950)
Root of Evil (1953)
Bulletin (1954)
One Ordinary Day, with Peanuts [short story] (1955)
The Missing Girl (1957)
The Omen (1958)
A Great Voice Stilled (1960)
The Beautiful Stranger (1968)

Books about Shirley Jackson


Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Lisa Jackson
David Baldacci
P D James
Lee Child
Patricia Cornwell
Elizabeth George
Michael Connelly
James Patterson
Iris Johansen
J A Jance
Clive Cussler
M C Beaton
Christian Jacq
Tess Gerritsen
Stephen King

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email