New Authors      New Books      Coming Soon      Most Popular      Top Authors     
Ngaio Marsh's picture

Ngaio Marsh

New Zealand (1895 - 1982)

Dame Ngaio Marsh, one of New Zealand's most remarkable and charismatic women, was world-renowned as a leading crime fiction writer and as an eminent Shakespearian producer.

From her first book in 1934 to her final volume just before her death in 1982, Ngaio Marsh's work has remained legendary, consistently compared to that of Agatha Christie, Margery Allingham and Dorothy L Sayers. During her celebrated fifty-year career, Marsh was made a Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America, named Dame Commander, Order of the British Empire, won numerous prestigious awards and penned 32 mystery novels.
Roderick Alleyn
1. A Man Lay Dead (1934)
2. Enter a Murderer (1935)
3. The Nursing Home Murder (1935)
4. Death in Ecstasy (1936)
5. Vintage Murder (1937)
6. Artists in Crime (1938)
7. Death in a White Tie (1938)
8. Overture to Death (1939)
9. Death at the Bar (1940)
10. Death of a Peer (1940)
     aka Surfeit of Lampreys
11. Death and the Dancing Footman (1941)
12. Colour Scheme (1943)
13. Died in the Wool (1944)
14. Final Curtain (1947)
15. A Wreath for Rivera (1949)
     aka Swing, Brother, Swing
16. Night at the Vulcan (1951)
     aka Opening Night
17. Spinsters in Jeopardy (1953)
     aka The Bride of Death
18. Scales of Justice (1955)
19. Death of a Fool (1956)
     aka Off with His Head
20. Singing in the Shrouds (1958)
21. False Scent (1959)
22. Hand in Glove (1962)
23. Dead Water (1963)
24. Killer Dolphin (1966)
     aka Death at the Dolphin
25. Clutch of Constables (1968)
26. When in Rome (1968)
27. Tied Up in Tinsel (1972)
28. Black As He's Painted (1974)
29. Last Ditch (1976)
30. A Grave Mistake (1978)
31. Photo Finish (1980)
32. Light Thickens (1982)
5 Complete Novels (omnibus) (1990)
Nursing Home Murder / Man Lay Dead / Final Curtain (omnibus) (1993)
Death in Ecstasy / Vintage Murder / Artists in Crime (omnibus) (2009)
Death in a White Tie / Overture to Death / Death at the Bar (omnibus) (2009)
A Man Lay Dead / Enter a Murderer / The Nursing Home Murder (omnibus) (2009)
Opening Night / Spinsters in Jeopardy / Scales of Justice (omnibus) (2009)
Black As He's Painted / Last Ditch / Grave Mistake (omnibus) (2010)
Clutch of Constables / When in Rome / Tied Up In Tinsel (omnibus) (2010)
Death at the Dolphin / Hand in Glove / Dead Water (omnibus) (2010)
A Man Lay Dead / Enter a Murderer (omnibus) (2012)
The Nursing Home Murder / Death in Ecstasy (omnibus) (2012)
Vintage Murder / Overture to Death (omnibus) (2012)
A Surfeit of Lampreys / Death and the Dancing Footman / Colour Scheme (omnibus) (2013)
Off With His Head / Singing in the Shrouds / False Scent (omnibus) (2013)

Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Ngaio Marsh
Short stories
A Fool About Money (1974)

Ngaio Marsh recommends
The Chelsea Murders
The Chelsea Murders (1978)
Lionel Davidson
"A milestone in the genre."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Margery Allingham
Dorothy L Sayers
Agatha Christie
James Patterson
M C Beaton
Henning Mankell
Anne Perry
Ruth Rendell
Ann Cleeves
Susan Hill
Louise Penny
Edward Marston
Michael Connelly
Ken Follett
Nora Roberts

Search for    

© 2016 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email