New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Mark Morris's picture

Mark Morris

UK (1963 - )

aka J M Morris

Mark Morris became a full-time writer in 1988 on the Enterprise Allowance Scheme, and a year later saw the release of his first novel, Toady. He has since published a further sixteen novels, among which are Stitch, The Immaculate, The Secret of Anatomy, Fiddleback, The Deluge and four books in the popular Doctor Who range.

His short stories, novellas, articles and reviews have appeared in a wide variety of anthologies and magazines, and he is editor of the highly-acclaimed Cinema Macabre, a book of fifty horror movie essays by genre luminaries, for which he won the 2007 British Fantasy Award.

His most recently published or forthcoming work includes a novella entitled It Sustains for Earthling Publications, a Torchwood novel entitled Bay of the Dead, several Doctor Who audios for Big Finish Productions, a follow-up volume to Cinema Macabre entitled Cinema Futura and a new short story collection, Long Shadows, Nightmare Light.
1. Morituri (2012)
The Wolves of London
Series contributed to
The Bodysnatchers
Deep Blue
Forever AutumnGhosts of India
The All-Seeing Eye
Bay Of The Dead
Darkstar AcademyTales of Trenzalore
Anthologies edited
Cinema FuturaThe Spectral Book of Horror Stories
Non fiction
Fatal Error (2003) (with Paul Janczewski)
Fatal Error
Anthologies containing stories by Mark Morris
Dark Voices 3: The Pan Book of HorrorBlue Motel: Narrow Houses Vol 3Dark TerrorsDancing with the Dark
Scaremongers 2: Redbrick Eden
Short stories
Homeward Bound (1988)
New Man (1989)
Playing God (1990)
Warts and All (1990)
The Company (1991)
The Fertilizer Man (1991)
Birthday (1992)
The Other One (1992)
Progeny (1992)
Green (1994)
The Chisellers' Reunion (1995)
Down to Earth (1995)
Eternity Ltd (1995)
A Shadow of Tomorrow (1997)
In the Hothouse (1998)

British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1996) : Mr Bad Face
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (2006) : Nowhere Near an Angel

Mark Morris recommends
The Leaping
The Leaping (2010)
Tom Fletcher
"I haven't been so blown away by a horror debut since I first read Clive Barker's Books of Blood twenty-five years ago. The Leaping is everything that good fiction should be--it is compelling, relevant and original. . . . like a dark, corrupt fairytale, oozing with dread and ancient menace."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
James Patterson
Clive Barker
Stephen King
Lee Child
Brandon Sanderson
Joe Abercrombie
Adam Nevill
Stephen Leather
Dean Koontz
George R R Martin
J D Robb
Tim Lebbon
C J Sansom
Rick Riordan
Michael Connelly

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email