New Authors      New Books      Coming Soon      Most Popular      Top Authors     
Jack Ketchum's picture

Jack Ketchum

(Dallas William Mayr)
USA (1946 - )

aka Jerzy Livingston

Jack Ketchum is the pseudonym for a former actor, teacher, literary agent, lumber salesman, and soda jerk. He is also a former flower child and baby boomer who figures that in 1956 Elvis, dinosaurs and horror probably saved his life. His first novel, OFF SEASON, an updating of the Sawney Beane story, prompted the Village Voice to publicly scold its publisher in print for publishing violent pornography. He has always wondered what they would think of THE GIRL NEXT DOOR. His short story THE BOX won a 1994 Bram Stoker Award from HWA.
Hide and Seek (1984)
Cover (1987)
She Wakes (1989)
The Girl Next Door (1989)
Joyride (1994)
     aka Road Kill
Stranglehold (1995)
     aka Only Child
Red (1995)
Ladies' Night (1997)
The Lost (2001)
The Crossings (2003)
Old Flames (2008)
The Woman (2010) (with Lucky McKee)
I'm Not Sam (2012) (with Lucky McKee)
The Secret Life of Souls (2016) (with Lucky McKee)

Non fiction
Turning Japanese: (2013)
Writers On Writing (2015) (with Jasper Bark, Dave-Brendon de Burgh, Brian Hodge, Todd Keisling, Kevin Lucia, Monique Snyman, Tim Waggoner and Mercedes M Yardley)
Anthologies containing stories by Jack Ketchum

Short stories
To Suit the Crime (1992)
I'd Give Anything for You (1994) (with Edward Lee)
The Rose (1994)
Redemption (1995)
Snakes (1995)
The Turning (1995)
If Memory Serves (1996)
Love Letters from the Rain Forest (1996) (with Edward Lee)
Amid the Walking Wounded (1998)
Masks (1999) (with Edward Lee)
Right to Life [short story] (1999)Bram Stoker (nominee)
Gone (2000)Bram Stoker (nominee)

Bram Stoker Best Short Story winner (1995) : The Box
Bram Stoker Best Novellette nominee (2000) : Right to Life [short story]
Bram Stoker Best Short Story nominee (2001) : Gone
Bram Stoker Best Novel nominee (2002) : The Lost

Search for    

© 2016 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email