New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    

Laurence James

UK (1942 - 2000)

aka James Axler, L J Coburn, James Darke, Arthur Frazier, Charles C Garrett, Richard Haigh, William M James, Neil Langholm, John J McLaglen, James McPhee, James W Marvin, Jonathan May, Klaus Netzen, Mick Norman, Andrew Quiller

Laurence James was a British science fiction writer, especially known for his involvement with the "Deathlands" series. James originally worked in publishing other people's books.

In 1972 he embarked on the career of "a full-time freelance author and journalist". For several years thereafter he published short science fiction stories in both Britain and the US. In 1974 he published his first full-length novel, "Earth Lies Sleeping" - the first in a series focused on the exploits of a galactic secret agent named Simon Rack. At the time he was living with his wife and their three children at an east Herefordshire village.
Angel Chronicles (as by Mick Norman)
1. Angels from Hell (1973)
2. Angel Challenge (1973)
3. Guardian Angels (1974)
4. Angels on My Mind (1974)
Angels from HellAngel ChallengeGuardian AngelsAngels on My Mind
Galactic Security Service
Earth Lies Sleeping (1974)
Starcross (1974)
     aka War on Aleph
Backflash (1975)
Planet of the Blind (1975)
New Life for Old (1975)
Earth Lies SleepingStarcrossBackflashPlanet of the Blind
New Life for Old
To Win and to LoseWinston Churchill MurderNight and FogFatal Friends
Pearl of BloodDeath Village
Red HillsWorse Than DeathTears Of BloodBlack Trail
Pilgrimage to HellRed HolocaustNeutron SolsticeCrater Lake
Homeward BoundPony SoldiersDectra ChainIce and Fire
Red EquinoxNorthstar RisingTime NomadsLatitude Zero
SeedlingDark CarnivalChill FactorMoon Fate
Fury's PilgrimsShockscapeDeep EmpireCold Asylum
Twilight ChildrenRider, ReaperRoad WarsTrader Redux
Genesis EchoShadowfallGround ZeroEmerald Fire
BloodlinesCrosswaysKeepers of the SunCircle Thrice
Eclipse at NoonCrucible of Time
The RevengersBeyond the Grave
Earth BloodDeep TrekAurora Quest
Golden Astronauts (1980) (as by Richard Haigh)
The Farm (1984) (as by Richard Haigh)
The City (1986) (as by Richard Haigh)
The FarmThe City
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Laurence James
The Unspeakable PeopleNew Writings in SF 22New Writings in SF 25
Short stories
Mercy (1967)
And Dug the Dog a Tomb (1972)
The Square Root of MC (1973)
You Get Lots of Yesterdays, Lots of Tomorrows, and Only One Today (1975)

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
James Axler
William M James
Andrew Quiller
John Harvey
Angus Wells
Alan Burt Akers
Kenneth Bulmer
Mark Ellis
Terry Harknett
Arthur Frazier
Charles R Pike
L J Coburn
John J McLaglen
Adam Hardy
James Darke

Search for    

© 2014 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email