New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Michael Innes's picture

Michael Innes

(John Innes Mackintosh Stewart)
Scotland (1906 - 1994)

John Innes Mackintosh Stewart was born in Edinburgh, educated at Oxford, and taught English in universities all over the world. His scholarly career includes successful works on Rudyard Kipling and Thomas Hardy, but he is better known as mystery writer Michael Innes, whose legendary character, Inspector John Appleby, inspired a lasting vogue for donnish detective fiction.
From London Far (1946)
     aka The Unsuspected Chasm
What Happened At Hazelwood? (1946)
The Journeying Boy (1949)
     aka The Case of the Journeying Boy
Christmas At Candleshoe (1953)
     aka Candleshoe
The Man from the Sea (1955)
     aka Death By Moonlight
Old Hall, New Hall (1956)
     aka A Question of Queens
The New Sonia Wayward (1960)
     aka The Case of Sonia Wayward
Money from Holme (1964)
A Change of Heir (1966)
Going It Alone (1980)
From London FarWhat Happened At Hazelwood?The Journeying BoyChristmas At Candleshoe
The Man from the SeaOld Hall, New HallThe New Sonia WaywardMoney from Holme
A Change of HeirGoing It Alone
Michael Innes OmnibusThe Second Michael Innes Omnibus
Three tales of Hamlet

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Lisa Jackson
Ken Follett
George R R Martin
John Grisham
Edward Marston
Michael Connelly
Louise Penny
Maya Banks
Arnaldur Indriðason
Jack Higgins
Tess Gerritsen
Robin Hobb
Susan Hill
Peter James
Ruth Rendell

Search for    

© 2014 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email