New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Elizabeth Cadell's picture

Elizabeth Cadell

(Elizabeth Violet Cadell)
UK (1903 - 1989)

aka Harriet Ainsworth

Elizabeth Cadell was born in 1903 in Calcutta, India. During the Great War she studied music in London, but refused a musical career and returned to India where she married and had two children. After she was widowed ten years later, she returned to England.

Elizabeth wrote her first book 'My Dear Aunt Flora' during the Second World War in 1946, thereafter producing another 51 light-hearted, humourous and romantic books which won her a faithful readership in England and America. She moved to Portugal in 1960 and subsequently set many of her books in that country. She died in 1989, aged eighty-five.
Waynes of Wood Mount
The Lark Shall Sing (1955)
     aka The Singing Heart
The Blue Sky of Spring (1956)
Six Impossible Things (1961)
The Lark Shall SingThe Blue Sky of SpringSix Impossible Things
My Dear Aunt Flora (1946)
Last Straw for Harriet (1947)
     aka Fishy, Said the Admiral
Gay Pursuit (1948)
River Lodge (1948)
Iris in Winter (1949)
Brimstone in the Garden (1950)
Enter Mrs. Belchamber (1951)
     aka The Frenchman and the Lady
The Greenwood Shady (1951)
Sun in the Morning (1951)
Men and Angels (1952)
Journey's Eve (1953)
     aka Crystal Clear
Spring Green (1953)
The Cuckoo in Spring (1954)
When Gentlemen Go by (1954)
     aka Around the Rugged Rock
Consider the Lilies (1955) (as by Harriet Ainsworth)
Money to Burn (1955)
I Love a Lass (1956)
Bridal Array (1957)
The Green Empress (1958)
Shadows on the Water (1958)
Sugar Candy Cottage (1958)
Alice Where Are Thou? (1959)
The Yellow Brick Road (1960)
Honey for Tea (1961)
The Toy Sword (1962)
     aka Language of the Heart
Letter to My Love (1963)
Mixed Marriage: The Diary of a Portuguese Bride (1963)
Be My Guest (1964)
Death Among Friends (1964) (as by Harriet Ainsworth)
Canary Yellow (1965)
The Fox from His Lair (1965)
The Corner Shop (1966)
The Stratton Story (1967)
     aka Mrs. Westerby Changes Course
The Golden Collar (1969)
The Friendly Air (1970)
The Past Tense of Love (1970)
Come Be My Guest (1971)
Home for the Wedding (1971)
The Haymaker (1972)
Royal Summons (1972)
Deck with Flowers (1973)
The Fledgling (1975)
Return Match (1976)
Game in Diamonds (1976)
Parson's House (1977)
The Round Dozen (1978)
Family Gathering (1979)
The Marrying Kind (1980)
Any Two Can Play (1981)
A Lion in the Way (1982)
Remains to Be Seen (1983)
The Waiting Game (1985)
The Empty Nest (1986)
Out of the Rain (1987)
My Dear Aunt FloraLast Straw for HarrietGay PursuitRiver Lodge
Iris in WinterBrimstone in the GardenEnter Mrs. BelchamberThe Greenwood Shady
Sun in the MorningMen and AngelsJourney's EveSpring Green
The Cuckoo in SpringWhen Gentlemen Go byConsider the LiliesMoney to Burn
I Love a LassBridal ArrayThe Green EmpressShadows on the Water
Sugar Candy CottageAlice Where Are Thou?The Yellow Brick RoadHoney for Tea
The Toy SwordLetter to My LoveMixed Marriage: The Diary of a Portuguese BrideBe My Guest
Death Among FriendsCanary YellowThe Fox from His LairThe Corner Shop
The Stratton StoryThe Golden CollarThe Friendly AirThe Past Tense of Love
Come Be My GuestHome for the WeddingThe HaymakerRoyal Summons
Deck with FlowersThe FledglingReturn MatchGame in Diamonds
Parson's HouseThe Round DozenFamily GatheringThe Marrying Kind
Any Two Can PlayA Lion in the WayRemains to Be SeenThe Waiting Game
The Empty NestOut of the Rain

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Taylor Caldwell
Dorothy Cannell
Meg Cabot
Stella Cameron
Chelsea Cain
Leslie Caine
Rachel Caine
Colette Caddle
Pat Cadigan
James M Cain
Lisa Cach
Patricia Cabot
Bethany Campbell
Lorenzo Carcaterra
Dana Cameron

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email