New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
John Wyndham's picture

John Wyndham

(John Wyndham Parkes Lucas Beynon Harris)
UK (1903 - 1969)

aka John Beynon, John Beynon Harris, Johnson Harris, Lucas Parkes, Wyndham Parkes

John Wyndham Parkes Lucas Benyon Harris was the son of a barrister. After trying a number of careers, including farming, law, commercial art and advertising, he started writing short stories in 1925. After serving in the civil Service and the Army during the war, he went back to writing. Adopting the name John Wyndham, he started writing a form of science fiction that he called 'logical fantasy. As well as The Day of the Triffids, he wrote The Kraken Wakes, The Chrysalids, The Midwich Cuckoos (filmed as Village of the Damned) and The Seeds of Time.
Anthologies containing stories by John Wyndham
From Other WorldsNo Place Like EarthBest SF 2Out of This World 10
A Treasury of Great Science Fiction, Volume 113 Great Stories of Science FictionOut of This World 3A Chamber of Horrors
Spectrum 4An ABC of Science FictionA Sense of WonderTime Untamed
The Unspeakable PeopleThe Freak ShowThe 6th Fontana Book of Great Horror StoriesThe Best Science Fiction Stories
The Oxford Book of Twentieth-Century Ghost StoriesThe Science Fiction CenturyDragons: The Greatest StoriesThe Flying Sorcerers
The Road to Science Fiction 5: The British WayVintage Science Fiction
Short stories
Before the Triffids
Worlds to Barter (1931)
The Lost Machine (1932)
The Venus Adventure (1932)
Exiles on Asperus [short story] (1933)
Invisible Monster (1933)
The Puff-Ball Menace (1933)
Spheres of Hell (1933) (as by John Beynon Harris)
The Third Vibrator (1933)
The Man from Beyond [short story] (1934)
The Man from Earth (1934)
The Moon Devils (1934) (as by John Beynon Harris)
The Cathedral Crypt (1935)
Perfect Creature (1937)
Una (1937)
     aka The Perfect Creature
The Last Lunarians (1938)
Sleepers of Mars [short story] (1938)
Child of Power (1939)
Derelict of Space (1939)
Judson's Annihilator (1939) (as by John Beynon)
The Trojan Beam (1939)
Vegeance By Proxy (1940)
Meteor (1941) (as by John Beynon Harris)
Phoney Meteor (1941) (as by John Beynon)
Wanderers of Time [short story] (1941)
Adaptation (1949)
Technical Slip (1949) (as by John Beynon Harris)
Time to Rest (1949) (as by John Beynon)
The Eternal Eve (1950)
And the Walls Came Tumbling Down... (1951)
Artist and Slave Girl (1951) (as by John Beynon)
No Place Like Earth [short story] (1951)
No Place Like Home (1951) (as by John Beynon)
Pawley's Peepholes (1951)
Pillar to Post (1951)
A Present from Brunswick (1951)
     aka Bargain from Brunswick
The Red Stuff (1951)
Close Behind Him (1952)
Dumb Martian (1952)
Survival (1952)
The Wheel (1952)
Chinese Puzzle (1953)
Chronoclasm (1953)
Confidence Trick (1953)
Female of the Species (1953)
How Do I Do? (1953)
More Spinned Against (1953)
Reservation Deferred (1953)
Time Out (1953)
     aka Time Stops Today
Affair of the Heart (1954)
Compassion Circuit (1954)
Esmeralda (1954)
Heaven Scent (1954)
Jizzle [short story] (1954)
Look Natural, Please! (1954)
Opposite Number (1954)
Perforce to Dream (1954)
Re-Birth (1955)
Wild Flower (1955)
Consider Her Ways [short story] (1956)
For All the Night%The Space Station AD 1994 (1958)
Idiot's Delight%The Moon AD 2044 (1958)
Space Is a Province of Brazil%Venus AD 2144 (1958)
The Thin Gnat-Voices%Mars AD 2094 (1958)
The Troons of Space - Mars AD 2094 (1959)
The Troons of Space - Venus AD 2144 (1959)
The Emptiness of Space (1960)
     aka The Asteroids, 2194
A Long Spoon (1960)
The Asteroids, 2194 (1961)
Odd (1961)
Oh, Where, Now, is Peggy MacRafferty? (1961)
Random Quest (1961)
Stitch in Time (1961)
A Life Postponed (1968)

Books about John Wyndham
John Wyndham (2002) by Phil Stephensen-Payne
John Wyndham recommends
Galaxies Like Grains of Sand
Galaxies Like Grains of Sand (1959)
Brian Aldiss
"Anyone who likes to see an intelligent imagination weave people and ideas together and finish the result with craftsmanship, should enjoy The Canopy of Time."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Larry Niven
Roger Zelazny
Gene Wolfe
H G Wells
Janny Wurts
Patricia C Wrede
George R R Martin
Isaac Asimov
Arthur C Clarke
David Wingrove
Stephen Baxter
Chris Wooding
Poul Anderson
Brian Aldiss
P G Wodehouse

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email