New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Mervyn Peake's picture

Mervyn Peake

(Mervyn Laurence Peake)
UK (1911 - 1968)

Mervyn Peake's masterpiece, the Gormenghast trilogy, is a gothic fantasy whose strange characters' lives are dominated by the labyrinthine castle of Gormenghast and its ancient rituals. Peake was also a brilliant artist which perhaps accounts for the unique visual intensity of his creation.

Mervyn Peake was born in China in 1911 of medical missionary parents. He began to draw, paint and write stories at an early age. His first book of poems, Shapes and Sounds, was published in 1941. He is probably best known for his Titus novels - Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone - but other well-known poetry collections include: The Glassblowers and The Rhyme of the Flying Bomb. He married Maeve Gilmore in 1937. He was awarded the W.H. Heinemann Foundation Prize by the Royal Society of Literature in 1950. Mervyn Peake died after a long illness in 1968.
Non fiction
The Craft of the Lead PencilDrawingsFigures of SpeechThe Sunday Books
Anthologies containing stories by Mervyn Peake
Spectrum 3Everyman's Book of Classic Horror StoriesThe Unfriendly FutureWeird Shadows from Beyond
Terror!One Hundred Years of Science FictionModern Science FictionThe Best Science Fiction Stories
The Golden Age of Science FictionThe Flying SorcerersThe Road to Science Fiction 5: The British WayKnights of Madness: Further Comic Tales of Fantasy
Short stories
Danger: Religion! (with Brian Aldiss, Anonymous and J G Ballard)
Boy in Darkness [short story] (1956) (with Brian Aldiss, Anonymous and J G Ballard)
The Voices of Time [short story] (1960) (with Brian Aldiss, Anonymous and J G Ballard)
Danse Macabre (1963)
Same Time, Same Place (1963)
The Party at Lady Cusp-Canine's (1969)

Books about Mervyn Peake
Mervyn PeakeMervyn PeakeThe Fantasts: Studies of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis Carroll, Mervyn Peake, Nokolay Gogol And Kenneth GrahameChild of Bliss: Growing Up with Mervyn Peake
A World Away: Memoir of Mervyn PeakeVast Alchemies: The Life And Work of Mervyn PeakeMy Eyes Mint GoldThe Art of Gormenghast: The Making of a Television Fantasy

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Jeffrey Archer
Brandon Sanderson
James Patterson
Peter V Brett
Patrick Rothfuss
Nora Roberts
Robin Hobb
Stephen Donaldson
Neil Gaiman
Scott Lynch
John Le Carré
Ken Follett
C J Sansom
Rick Riordan
Lesley Pearse

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email