New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Jerry Oltion's picture

Jerry Oltion

USA (1957 - )

Jerry Oltion is the author of ABANDON IN PLACE, THE GETAWAY SPECIAL, ANYWHERE BUT HERE, and PARADISE PASSED, plus several Star Trek books and over a hundred short stories in various magazines and anthologies. He is the most prolific contributor to Analog magazine in the last 25 years, and the third most prolific of all time. (Yes, he's shooting for #1.) His novella version of "Abandon in Place" won the Nebula Award in 1998. Jerry also writes under the name "Ryan Hughes." He is an amateur astronomer, which led him to spend most of a year designing and building a new type of telescope he calls the "trackball." He lives in Eugene, Oregon, with his wife, Kathy, and the obligatory writer's cat, Stormy.
Series contributed to
Anthologies containing stories by Jerry Oltion

Short stories
Much Ado About Nothing (1982)
Oltion's Complete, Unabridged History of the Universe (1983)
The Sense of Discovery (1983)
Frame of Reference [short story] (1984)
The Life of Boswell (1984)
All Your Dreams Come True (1985) (with Kevin Hardisty)
The Basic Universe (1985)
The Getaway Special [short story] (1985)
Deja View (1986)
In the Creation Science Laboratory (1987)
The Love Song of Laura Morrison (1987)
Neither Rain Nor Sleet Nor Weirdness (1987)
What's a Nice Girl Like You... (1987)
Alternating Current (1988)
If You Wish Upon a Star... (1988)
Sunstat (1988) (with Lee Goodloe)
Big Two-Sided River (1989)
Contact (1992) (with Lee Goodloe)Nebula (nominee)
Because It's There (1993)
At the Crossroads: The Spacer's Tale (1995)
Crucifixion (1995) (with Adam-Troy Castro)
My Soul to Keep (1995)
Park Rules (1995)
Abandon in Place [short story] (1997)Hugo (nominee)
The Astronaut From Wyoming [short story] (1999) (with Adam-Troy Castro)Hugo (nominee)
Nebula (nominee)
Renaissance Man (1999)

Nebula nominee (1993) : Contact
Hugo nominee (1997) : Abandon in Place [short story]
Nebula winner (1998) : Abandon in Place [short story]
Hugo nominee (2000) : The Astronaut From Wyoming [short story]
Nebula nominee (2000) : The Astronaut From Wyoming [short story]

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Larry Niven
H Beam Piper
Jerry Pournelle
Andre Norton
Joyce Carol Oates
Gregg Olsen
Nnedi Okorafor
Jana Oliver
Lorie O'Clare
Sara Reinke
Brian Rathbone
Caragh O'Brien
James S A Corey
S W O'Connell
Mary Pope Osborne

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email