New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Shiva Naipaul's picture

Shiva Naipaul

Trinidad (1945 - 1985)
Brother of V S Naipaul

Shiva Naipaul was born in 1945 in Port of Spain, Trinidad. He was educated at Queen's Royal College and St Mary's College in Trinidad and at University College, Oxford. He married in 1967 and had one son. His books include Fireflies (1970), which won the Jock Campbell New Statesman Award, the John Llewellyn Rhys Memorial Prize and the Winifred Holtby Prize; North of South (1978), the story of his remarkable journey through Africa; Black and White (1980); A Hot Country (1983); and Beyond the Dragon's Mouth: Stories and Pieces (1984). Many of these are published in Penguin Twentieth-Century Classics, as well as A Man of Mystery and Other Stories (1995), a selection of stories taken from Beyond the Dragon's Mouth. Shiva Naipaul died in 1985 aged only forty; David Holloway in the Daily Telegraph wrote, 'We have lost one of the most talented and wide-ranging writers of his generation.'
Non fiction
North of South: An African JourneyJourney to Nowhere: A New World Tragedy
Whitbread Prize Best Novel winner (1973) : The Chip Chip Gatherers

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
V S Naipaul
Kevin Baldeosingh
Rabindranath Maharaj
Arturo Arias
Jennine Capó Crucet
Karen Lord
Jill Myles
Yanick Lahens
Herta Müller
Marie NDiaye
Mike Mullin
Rick Murcer
Barbara Mutch
Ramez Naam
Sable Grey

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email