New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
William Mayne's picture

William Mayne

UK (1928 - 2010)

William Mayne has been described as one of the outstanding children's authors of this century (Oxford Companion to Children's Literature). He has won all major awards including the Carnegie and Guardian fiction award.
Follow the FootprintsThe World Upside DownMember for the MarshThe Blue Boat
Grass RopeUnderground AlleyThe ThumbstickThe Fishing Party
Rolling SeasonThe ChangelingThe Glass BallSummer Visitors
The Twelve DancersThe Man from the North PoleOn the Stepping StonesParcel of Trees
Plot NightA Day Without WindSandWhistling Rufus
No More SchoolPig in the MiddleThe Old ZionRooftops
The BattlefieldOver the Hills and Far AwayThe Gobbling BillyThe Hill Road
RavensgillRoyal HarryGame of DarkThe Incline
SkiffyThe Jersey ShoreThe Yellow AirplaneA Year and a Day
Max's DreamItWhile the Bells RingSalt River Times
All the King's MenSkiffy and the Twin PlanetsWinter QuartersDrift
Come, Come to My CornerCorbieGideon Ahoy!Kelpie
Lamb ShenkinTigers RailwayAntar and the EaglesLow Tide
The Egg TimerCuddyMidnight FairIn Natalie's Garden
Captain Ming and the MermaidImogen and the ArkThe Worm in the WellThe Animal Garden
Every Dog
Over the Horizon: or Round the World in Fifteen StoriesThe Last BusRobin's Real EngineA Small Pudding for Wee Gowrie: And Other Stories of Underground Creatures (flying Carpets)
The Green Book of Hob StoriesThe Blue Book of Hob StoriesThe Blemyah StoriesThe Farm That Ran Out of Names
The Second Hand Horse: And Other StoriesThe Complete Book of Hob StoriesThe Fox Gate
Picture Books
Water BoatmanThe Big Wheel and the Little WheelThe Big EggToffee Join
The Mouse and the EggThe Patchwork CatThe MouldyMousewing
A House in TownBarnabas WalksPandoraLady Muck
Anthologies edited
Book of QueensA Book of HeroesA Book of GiantsGhosts: An Anthology
Supernatural Stories
Anthologies containing stories by William Mayne
Supernatural Stories
Short stories
A Haunted Terrace
As Cold as Ice (1995)
The Story of Glam (1995)

Carnegie Medal winner (1958) : Grass Rope

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Wendy Mass
M I McAllister
Norma Fox Mazer
Jan Marino
Ben Mikaelsen
Hilary McKay
Chris Lynch
Yona Zeldis McDonough
Margaret McAllister
Ivan Southall
Rosemary Harris
Philip Turner
Sheena Porter
Hester Burton
Lisa McMann

Search for    

© 2014 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email