New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors     
Jan Mark's picture

Jan Mark

UK (1943 - 2006)

Jan Mark was a British author, best known as a writer for children. She was christened Janet Marjorie Brisland in Welwyn Garden City in 1943 and was raised and educated in Kent. She was a secondary school teacher between 1965 and 1971, and became a full-time writer in 1974. She wrote over fifty novels and plays and many anthologized short stories. She was divorced, and is survived by her daughter Isobel. Her son Alex took his own life 8 months after her death. She won the Carnegie Medal for "Thunder and Lightnings" (1976) and for "Handles" (1983).


Picture Books

Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Jan Mark
Short stories
Nule (1977)
Kieselguhr's Syndrome (1999)

Carnegie Medal Best Book winner (1977) : Thunder and Lightnings
Carnegie Medal Best Book winner (1984) : Handles

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Graham Marks
Angela McCallister
Jenny McLachlan
Kimblerly McCreight
Linda Medley
Charlotte McConaghy
Jamie McFarlane
Sarah Micklem
Laurie McKay
Anne Mercier
Ian Rankin
Jane May
Allison Merritt
Hazel Marshall
Heather McCollum

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email