New Authors      New Books      Coming Soon      Most Popular      Top Authors     
Frank Belknap Long's picture

Frank Belknap Long

USA (1903 - 1994)

aka Lyda Belknap Long

Frank Belknap Long was a prolific American writer of horror fiction, fantasy, science fiction, poetry, gothic romance, comic books, and non-fiction. Though his writing career spanned seven decades, he is best known for his horror and science fiction short stories, including early contributions to the Cthulhu Mythos. During his life, Long received the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement (at the 1978 World Fantasy Convention), the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement (in 1987, from the Horror Writers Association), and the First Fandom Hall of Fame Award (1977).

A Man from Genoa (poems) (1925)
The Goblin Tower (1935)
The Hounds of Tindalos (1946)
John Carstairs: Space Detective (1949)
The Ultimate Invader (1954) (with Malcolm Jameson, Murray Leinster and Eric Frank Russell)
Odd Science Fiction (1963)
The Dark Beasts (1964)
The Rim of the Unknown (1972)
The Black Druid (1975)
The Early Long (1975)
In Mayan Splender (1977)
In Mayan Splendor (1977)
When Chaugnar Wakes (1978)
Night Fear (1979)
The Challenge From Beyond (1990) (with Robert E Howard, H P Lovecraft, A Merritt and C L Moore)
The Eye Above the Mantel (1995)
The Man Who Died Twice (2009)
Frank Belknap Long: Masters of the Weird Tale (2011)
Frank Belknap Reader: Masters of Classic Sci-Fi (2012)
The Cthulhu Mythos Megapack (2012) (with Michael R Collings, John S Glasby, Robert E Howard, T E D Klein, H P Lovecraft, Brian McNaughton, Darrell Schweitzer, Clark Ashton Smith, Brian Stableford and Lawrence Watt-Evans)
Classic Martian Stories, Vol. 5 (2013) (with Poul Anderson, Leigh Brackett, William Ferguson, George Griffith, Tom Leahy, Carey Rockwell, P H Sidney and Robert Silverberg)
The Sixth Science Fiction Megapack (2013) (with Forrest J Ackerman, Neal Asher, Ray Bradbury, Reginald Bretnor, Adam-Troy Castro, Arthur C Clarke, John Cory, Samuel R Delany, Philip K Dick, A.A. Jackson IV, Jr., C M Kornbluth, Nancy Kress, Henry Kuttner, Jay Lake, Alan E Nourse, Jerry Oltion, Pamela Sargent, Jerry Sohl, Mary A. Turzillo, Mary A Turzillo, Howard Waldrop, Harry Warner, Lawrence Watt-Evans, Ralph Williams, Murray F. Yaco and George Zebrowski)

Series contributed to
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Frank Belknap Long

Short stories
The Flame Midget
Night Fear [short story]
Riddle of the Deadly Paradise
A Stitch in Time
We, the Invisible
When the Rains Came
Death Waters (1924)
The Desert Lich (1924)
The Ocean Leech (1925)
The Man with a Thousand Legs (1927)
The Space-Eaters (1928)
The Hounds of Tindalos [short story] (1929)
The Black Druid [short story] (1930)
Second Night Out (1933)
The Dark Beasts [short story] (1934)
The Great Cold (1935)
Giants in the Sky (1939)
Johnny on the Spot (1939)
Census Taker (1942)
It Will Come to You (1942)
The Refugees (1942)
Step Into My Garden (1942)
Return of the Undead (1943) (with Otis Adelbert Kline)
The Critters (1945)
Humpty Dumpty Had a Great Fall (1948)
Maturity Night (1949)
Cottage Tenant (1974)
Dark Awakening (1980)
Lover in the Wildwood (1986)

World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1975)
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1976)
World Fantasy Best Collection nominee (1976) : The Early Long
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement nominee (1977)
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement winner (1978)

Books about Frank Belknap Long

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Keith Laumer
Fritz Leiber
Richard A Lupoff
Tim Lebbon
C S Lewis
Clifford D Simak
Sterling E Lanier
John D MacDonald
Murray Leinster
Stephen Lawhead
Tanith Lee
Ursula K Le Guin
Morgan Llywelyn
Sharon Lee
Jeffrey Lord

Search for    

© 2016 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email