New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Anna Kavan's picture

Anna Kavan

(Helen Woods Edmonds)
UK (1901 - 1968)

aka Helen Ferguson

After publishing a number of conventional novels as Helen Ferguson, two of which included a character named Anna Kavan, the author suffered serious mental illness and became a registered heroin addict. She then emerged with Asylum Piece, an amazing series of connected stories, written under her invented persona Anna Kavan, depicting in an intense and original manner the clinical states of mind that she had experienced. She went on to a life of constant drug addiction that switched between productive periods as a novelist, painter, and editor, wife and mother, and suicidal intervals with long stays in mental hospitals. Kavan's fiction, haunting, shocking and implacable, represents a major artistic accomplishment and provides a signpost into a world where addiction and depression are claiming so many perceptive and creative people. She died by her own hand in 1968.
Anthologies containing stories by Anna Kavan
The Penguin Book of Modern Fantasy by Women
Short stories
A Bright Green Field [short story] (1958)

Books about Anna Kavan
The Case of Anna KavanA Stranger On the Earth: The Life and Work of Anna Kavan

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Edith Pattou
J G Ballard
Ray Garton
William Wharton
Roderick Thorp
Matthew Revert
Alex Albrinck
Rebecca Rotert
Peter Walker
Shona Husk
Vaughn C Hardacker
Jim Gallows
Karen Ball
Sarah Rayner
Ron McMillan

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email