New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Isobelle Carmody's picture

Isobelle Carmody

(Isobelle Jane Carmody)
Australia (1958 - )

Isobelle Carmody began the first of her highly acclaimed Obernewtyn Chronicles while she was still at high school, and worked on it while completing a Bachelor of Arts, majoring in literature and philosophy, and then a journalism cadetship. This series, and her short stories, have established her at the forefront of fantasy writing in Australia. Both the first in the Legendsong saga, Darkfall, and its sequel, Darksong were completed while Carmody was living in Prague and she now divides her time between her home on the Great Ocean Road in Australia and her travels abroad.

She has written many award-winning short stories and books for young people. The Gathering was a joint winner of the 1993 CBC Book of the Year Award and the 1994 Children's Literature Peace Prize, and her most recent book for younger readers, Billy Thunder and the Night Gate, was shortlisted for the Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature in the 2001 NSW Premier's Literary Awards.
ObernewtynThe FarseekersAshlingThe Keeping Place
The Stone KeyWavesongThe Red QueenThe Sending
The Waking Dragon
1. Darkfall (1997)
2. Darksong (2002)
Gateway Trilogy
1. Billy Thunder and the Night Gate (2000)
     aka Night Gate
2. The Winter Door (2001)
Billy Thunder and the Night GateThe Winter Door
The Legend BeginsA Fox Called SorrowMystery of WolvesRiddle of Green
Little Fur
Obernewtyn Chronicles Omnibus
1. The Rebellion (2011)
2. The Seeker (2011)
3. The Dreamtrails (2012)
The RebellionThe SeekerThe Dreamtrails
Kingdom of the Lost
1. The Red Wind (2013)
2. The Cloud Road (2014)
The Red WindThe Cloud Road
Series contributed to
Angel FeverThe Cat Dreamer
Anthology series
Tales from the Tower (with Nan McNab)
1. The Wilful Eye (2011)
2. The Wicked Wood (2011)
The Wilful EyeThe Wicked Wood
Anthologies containing stories by Isobelle Carmody
The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror Tenth Annual Collection
Short stories
The Phoenix (1996)

Isobelle Carmody recommends
Ferren and the Angel
Ferren and the Angel (2004)
(Heaven And Earth Trilogy, book 1)
Richard Harland
"... a profoundly original fantasy..."
Awakening (2008)
(Twins of Saranthium, book 1)
Lara Morgan
"Lara is that rare find in fantasy, a skilled and original world-maker who can also create extraordinary, wonderfully realistic characters."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
James Patterson
Jeffrey Archer
Diana Gabaldon
George R R Martin
Lee Child
Robin Hobb
J D Robb
Richelle Mead
Brandon Sanderson
Sylvia Day
Raymond E Feist
Ken Follett
Nora Roberts
Rick Riordan
J R Ward

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email