New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Helen Cresswell's picture

Helen Cresswell

UK (1934 - 2005)

Helen started writing at the tender age of six years old! At that time her primary interest was in poetry. Now she is an author of wonderful stories, such as The Bongleweed and The Piemakers.

Helen has also written many television scripts, including Five Children and It, The Demon Headmaster and Lizzie Dripping.

Wednesday September 28, 2005: Helen Cresswell has died of cancer at her home in Eakring, Nottinghamshire, at the age of 71.

More in The Guardian
Sonya-by-the-shore (1960)
The White Sea Horse (1964)
Pietro and the Mule (1965)
Where the Wind Blows (1966)
A day on Big O (1967)
The Piemakers (1967)
A Tide for the Captain (1967)
Barge Children (1968)
Rug is a Bear (1968)
Rug Plays Tricks (1968)
The Sea Piper (1968)
The Signposters (1968)
House for Jones (1969)
The Night Watchmen (1969)
Rug and a Picnic (1969)
Rug Plays Ball (1969)
The Outlanders (1970)
Rainbow Pavement (1970)
The Wilkses (1970)
Bird Fancier (1971)
Weather Cat (1971)
At the Stroke of Midnight (1971)
Up the Pier (1971)
Arc-en-ciel (1972)
Jane's Policeman (1972)
Blue Birds Over Pit Row (1972)
Roof Fall (1972)
The Beachcombers (1972)
Long Day (1972)
Short Back and Sides (1972)
The Bower Birds (1973)
The Beetle Hunt (1973)
The Bongleweed (1973)
The Key (1973)
The Trap (1973)
Cheap Day Return (1974)
Shady Deal (1974)
A Game of Catch (1975)
Butterfly Chase (1975)
The Winter of the Birds (1975)
Donkey Days (1977)
Awful Jack (1977)
The Flyaway Kite (1979)
My Aunt Polly (1979)
Nearly Goodbye (1980)
Penny for the Guy (1980)
My Aunt Polly by the Sea (1980)
Kingdom of Riches (1981)
Dear Shrink (1982)
Ellie and the Hagwitch (1984)
Greedy Alice (1986)
Whodunnit? (1986)
Time Out (1987)
Moondial (1987)
Dragon Ride (1987)
Trouble (1987)
The Story of Grace Darling (1988)
Rosie and the Boredom Eater (1989)
Hokey Pokey Did It! (1989)
Almost Goodbye, Guzzler (1990)
Meet Posy Bates (1990)
The Secret World of Polly Flint (1991)
The Return of the Psammead (1992)
The Watchers (1993)
Polly Thumb (1994)
Birdspell (1995)
Little Sea Horse (1995)
Stonestruck (1995)
Mister Maggs (1996)
Bag of Bones (1997)
The Little Sea Pony (1997)
Sophie and the Sea Wolf (1997)
The Phoenix and the Carpet (1997)
Garlunk (1998)
The Little Grey Donkey (1998)
Snatchers (1998)
Rumpelstiltskin (2004)
The White Sea HorsePietro and the MuleWhere the Wind BlowsA day on Big O
The PiemakersA Tide for the CaptainBarge ChildrenThe Sea Piper
The SignpostersThe Night WatchmenRug and a PicnicThe Outlanders
The WilksesBird FancierWeather CatAt the Stroke of Midnight
Up the PierBlue Birds Over Pit RowRoof FallThe Beachcombers
The Bower BirdsThe BongleweedThe TrapShady Deal
A Game of CatchButterfly ChaseThe Winter of the BirdsAwful Jack
Dear ShrinkEllie and the HagwitchWhodunnit?Time Out
MoondialDragon RideTroubleThe Story of Grace Darling
Rosie and the Boredom EaterHokey Pokey Did It!Almost Goodbye, GuzzlerMeet Posy Bates
The Secret World of Polly FlintThe Return of the PsammeadThe WatchersPolly Thumb
BirdspellLittle Sea HorseStonestruckMister Maggs
Bag of BonesThe Little Sea PonySophie and the Sea WolfThe Phoenix and the Carpet
GarlunkThe Little Grey DonkeySnatchersRumpelstiltskin
The White Sea Horse and Other Sea MagicSilver JackanoryOut of This WorldWe're Having a Party!
Picture Books
John's First Fish

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
C J Sansom
J K Rowling
Betty Levin
Mary Stewart
Lucy M Boston
James Doohan
D K Broster
Catherine Storr
James Patterson
Virginia Hamilton
Susanna Gregory
Theresa Breslin
Humphrey Carpenter
Enid Blyton
Henrietta Branford

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email