New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>
book cover of 

Highwayman: Ironside 

Highwayman: Ironside (2013)
A Novella by Michael Arnold

 
England: 1655.

A nation reeling from the turmoil of bloody civil war. An island in the iron grip of Oliver Cromwell's Protectorate.

The forces of King Charles have been utterly defeated. The sovereign is dead, his supporters beaten, humiliated and scattered.

But it is not just former Cavaliers who find themselves hounded by the new regime. Many of those who fought for Parliament have fallen foul of the oppressive rule of the Major-Generals.

One such man is Major Samson Lyle: Roundhead, outlaw, fugitive. Forced into exile after a dispute with the ruling elite, he has returned, intent on waging war against those now in command. Skilled with pistol and blade, Lyle takes the fight onto the busy roads south of the capital, forging a formidable reputation as a notorious highwayman.

Along with his trusted young ward Bella, and Eustace Grumm, an irascible former smuggler, Lyle dodges the ever-present threat of capture to menace those against whom he has sworn revenge. But when the robbery of a powerful lawyer alerts Lyle to the imprisonment of a former comrade, the Major is plunged into a dangerous game of intrigue and deceit that may finally prove his undoing. And he must tread carefully, for Parliament have dispatched their own man to hunt the elusive outlaw.

The villainous Colonel John Maddocks is tracking Lyle's every move, and soon he will come face to face with the Ironside Highwayman.

'Highwayman: Ironside' is a thrilling novella, which blends together action and intrigue. For fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.

"Masterful storytelling... Michael Arnold has forged together a hero and plot which will please his current fans and doubtless win over some new ones too."
- Richard Foreman, author of 'Sword of Rome'.

Praise for Michael Arnold:

'You can smell the gunpowder and hear the cannon fire . . . Arnold's passion for the period suffuses every page' - Robyn Young, author of the Brethren trilogy.

"Read this book for historical entertainment backed by extensive research of the time we and you will not be disappointed. Every major scene is based on fact, the feeling of the atrocious weather of the period, the fierce brutality of civil war and the fervour of both sides is apparent on virtually every page. I am certainly going to get the first book and am pleased that Mr Arnold has promised, 'Captain Stryker will return'." - John Ruse, English Civil War Society

"Captain Stryker is a character well able to attract readers on his own merits.... Many of the most famous engagements of the civil war are still to come, and the enigmatic Stryker's involvement in them promises much entertainment." - Nick Rennison, The Sunday Times

"Captures the grittiness, as well as the doomed glamour, of the Royalist cause." - Charles Spencer, author of 'Prince Rupert: The Last Cavalier'

Michael Arnold's interest in British history is lifelong, and childhood holidays were spent visiting castles and battlefields. He became a Sharpe junkie at the age of 13, and his particular fascination with the seventeenth century was piqued partly by the fact that his hometown Petersfield is steeped in the history of the period. Michael is the bestselling author of Traitor's Blood and Assassin's Reign. He is also the author of the short story Stryker and the Angels of Death.

Michael is the first historical series novelist of our time to have used the English Civil Wars as his backdrop, and, in this exclusive new sequence of Highwayman novellas, turns his attention to the period when England was a republic.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

 
Similar Books by other authors...

 
Used availability for Michael Arnold's Highwayman: Ironside


See all available used copies of this book at: Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

 

Kindle Editions

June 2013 : Kindle edition
Title: Highwayman: Ironside
Author(s): Michael Arnold
ISBN: B00D89Y10K
Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

 


Search for    

© 2014 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email webmaster@fantasticfiction.co.uk