New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
Mabel Esther Allan's picture

Mabel Esther Allan

UK (1915 - 1998)

aka Jean Estoril, Priscilla Hagon, Anne Pilgrim

Mabel Esther Allan was a British author of about 130 children's books.

Mabel Esther Allan was born at Wallasey on the Wirral Peninsula. She decided to be an author at the age of eight; her father bought her a writing desk and taught her how to type. When the family moved, Allan was given a study in which to write.

Her books include school stories and ballet stories - especially those about Drina Adams, written under the name of Jean Estoril. She also wrote under the pen-names Priscilla Hagon and Anne Pilgrim.
The Adventurous Summer (1948)
Glen Castle Mystery (1948)
The Wyndhams Went to Wales (1948)
Cilla of Chiltern's Edge (1949)
Holiday at Arnriggs (1949)
Mullion (1949)
Trouble at Melville Manor (1949)
Chilton Adventure (1950)
Everyday Island (1950)
Jimmy John's journey (1950)
School Under Snowdon (1950)
The Exciting River (1951)
Clues to Connemara (1952)
The MacIains of Glen Gillean (1952)
Return to Derrykereen (1952)
The School On Cloud Ridge (1952)
The School On North Barrule (1952)
Lucia Comes to School (1953)
Room for the Cuckoo (1953)
The Secret Valley (1953)
Strangers at Brongwerne (1953)
Three Go to Switzerland (1953)
Adventure Royal (1954)
Here We Go Round: A Career Story for Girls (1954)
Margaret Finds a Future (1954)
Meric's Secret Cottage (1954)
New Schools for Old (1954)
The Summer At Town's End (1954)
Adventures in Switzerland (1955)
Changes for the Challoners (1955)
Glenvara (1955)
Judith Teaches (1955)
The Mystery of Derrydane (1955)
Swiss School (1955)
Adventure in Mayo (1956)
The Amber House (1956)
Balconies and Blue Nets: The Story of a Holiday in Brittany (1956)
Flora At Kilroinn (1956)
Lost Lorrenden (1956)
Strangers in Skye (1956)
Two in the Western Isles (1956)
The Vine Clad Hill (1956)
Ann's Alpine adventure (1957)
Black Forest Summer (1957)
Murder At the Flood (1957)
Sara Goes to Germany (1957)
Blue Dragon Days (1958)
The Conch Shell (1958)
The House By the Marsh (1958)
Rachel Tandy (1958)
Amanda Goes to Italy (1959)
Catrin in Wales (1959)
A Play to the Festival (1959)
Hilary's Summer On Her Own (1960)
Shadow Over the Alps (1960)
A Summer in Brittany (1960)
Tansy of Tring Street (1960)
Bluegate Girl (1961)
Holiday of Endurance (1961)
Home to the Island (1961)
On stage, Flory! (1961)
Pendron Under the Water (1961)
Clare Goes to Holland (1962) (as by Anne Pilgrim)
The First Time I Saw Paris (1962) (as by Anne Pilgrim)
Romance in Italy (1962)
Schooldays in Skye (1962)
Signpost to Switzerland (1962)
Kate Comes to England (1963)
The Sign of the Unicorn (1963)
A Summer in Provence (1963) (as by Anne Pilgrim)
Fiona On the 14th Floor (1964)
     aka Mystery On the Fourteenth Floor
It Happened in Arles (1964)
Strangers in New York (1964) (as by Anne Pilgrim)
A Summer at Sea (1965)
Cruising to Danger (1966) (as by Priscilla Hagon)
In Pursuit of Clarinda (1966)
Mystery of the Ski Slopes (1966)
     aka Skiing to Danger
The Way Over Windle (1966)
Dancing to Danger (1967)
It started in Madeira (1967)
     aka The Mystery Began in Madeira
Missing in Manhattan (1967)
     aka Mystery in Manhattan
Selina's New Family (1967) (as by Anne Pilgrim)
Castle of Fear (1968) (as by Priscilla Hagon)
Mystery at Saint-Hilaire (1968) (as by Priscilla Hagon)
A Chill in the Lane (1969)
Climbing to Danger (1969)
     aka Mystery in Wales
Mystery at the Villa Bianca (1969) (as by Priscilla Hagon)
Dangerous Inheritance (1970)
The Mystery of the Secret Square (1970)
The Secret Dancer (1971)
The May Day Mystery (1971)
Behind the Blue Gates (1972)
Time to Go Back (1972)
Island in a Green Sea (1972)
A Formidable Enemy (1973)
Kraymer Mystery (1973)
Ship of Danger (1974)
Secret Players (1974)
The Night Wind (1974)
Romansgrove (1975)
Bells of Rome (1975)
     aka Mystery in Rome
Bridge of Friendship (1975)
Trouble in the Glen (1976)
The Rising Tide (1976)
My Family's Not Forever (1977)
The View Beyond My Father (1978)
New York for Nicola (1978)
Tomorrow is a Lovely Day (1979)
The Mills Down Below (1980)
A Lovely Tomorrow (1980)
A Strange Enchantment (1981)
The Horns of Danger (1981)
A Dream of Hunger Moss (1983)
Secret at Spindle Bottom (1984)
The Road to Huntingland (1986)
Up the Victorian Staircase (1987)
Death Goes to Italy (2011)
Glen Castle MysteryThe Wyndhams Went to WalesMullionTrouble at Melville Manor
Everyday IslandSchool Under SnowdonThe MacIains of Glen GilleanReturn to Derrykereen
The School On Cloud RidgeThe School On North BarruleLucia Comes to SchoolRoom for the Cuckoo
Three Go to SwitzerlandAdventure RoyalMargaret Finds a FutureMeric's Secret Cottage
New Schools for OldThe Summer At Town's EndChanges for the ChallonersGlenvara
Judith TeachesSwiss SchoolAdventure in MayoBalconies and Blue Nets: The Story of a Holiday in Brittany
Flora At KilroinnLost LorrendenStrangers in SkyeThe Vine Clad Hill
Black Forest SummerMurder At the FloodThe Conch ShellThe House By the Marsh
Amanda Goes to ItalyCatrin in WalesA Play to the FestivalShadow Over the Alps
Home to the IslandClare Goes to HollandSchooldays in SkyeIt Happened in Arles
Strangers in New YorkA Summer at SeaCruising to DangerThe Way Over Windle
It started in MadeiraMissing in ManhattanSelina's New FamilyA Chill in the Lane
Climbing to DangerMystery at the Villa BiancaDangerous InheritanceThe Secret Dancer
Behind the Blue GatesTime to Go BackIsland in a Green SeaA Formidable Enemy
RomansgroveBells of RomeBridge of FriendshipTrouble in the Glen
The Rising TideThe View Beyond My FatherNew York for NicolaTomorrow is a Lovely Day
The Mills Down BelowA Lovely TomorrowA Strange EnchantmentA Dream of Hunger Moss
The Road to HuntinglandDeath Goes to Italy
Seven in Switzerland

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Tasha Alexander
Barbara Allan
Beverly Allen
Sara Alexi
Victoria Alexander
Meg Alexander
Sherman Alexie
Alice Alfonsi
Alma Alexander
Joan Aiken
James Aldridge
Alyssa Alexander
A K Alexander
Laura Alden
Tamera Alexander

Search for    

© 2015 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email