New Authors    New Books    Coming Soon    Most Popular    Top Authors    
<< Previous book
book cover of 

Complete Stories 

Complete Stories (2011)
A collection of stories by Kingsley Amis

The short stories of Kingsley Amis - the great master of post-war comic prose - are dark, playful, moving, surprising and extremely funny. This definitive collection gathers all Amis' short fiction in a single volume for the first time and encompasses five decades of storytelling. In "The 2003 Claret", written in 1958, a time machine is invented for the weighty task of sending a man to 2010 to discover what the booze will taste like. In "Boris and the Colonel" a Cambridge spy is unearthed in the sleepy English countryside with the help of a plucky horse, while in "Mason's Life" two men meet inside their respective dreams. This collection spans many genres, offering ingenious alternative histories, mystery and horror, satirical reflections and a devilishly funny attacks. Amis' stories reveal the scope of his imagination and the warmth beneath his acerbic humour, and they all share the unmistakable style and wit of one of Britain's best loved writers. This title includes a new foreword by Rachel Cusk.

Used availability for Kingsley Amis's Complete Stories

See all available used copies of this book at: Abebooks UK or Abebooks US


Hardback Editions

June 2011 : Hardback
Title: Complete Stories (Penguin Modern Hardback Classc)
Author(s): Kingsley Amis
ISBN: 0141194197 / 9780141194196 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Availability: Amazon UK   

Paperback Editions

April 2013 : Paperback
Title: Complete Stories (Penguin Modern Classics)
Author(s): Kingsley Amis
ISBN: 0141195290 / 9780141195292 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Classics
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon   

Kindle Editions

June 2011 : Kindle edition
Title: Complete Stories (Penguin Modern Classics)
Author(s): Kingsley Amis
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for    

© 2014 Fantastic Fiction
Questions? Comments? Corrections? Please email